Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OT: Gifts for Drummers

Hello. My brother plays drums (he is not a professional) and has a birthday coming up. I'm looking for ideas for gifts. Anyone have any cool or unusual gifts a drummer might enjoy? He doesn't really study his instrument on his own, so drum instructional vids sit unused.

J.S. Bach Well Tempered Klavier

The collected works of Scott Joplin

Ray Charles Genius plus Soul

Charlie Parker Omnibook

Stevie Wonder Songs in the Key of Life

Weather Report Mr. Gone

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

My buddy up in Montreal hosted me for the weekend once and I brought my Mojo 61 up (as I drove from Maine) so we could jam for 5 hours or so over the weekend... He's a drummer, and divorced (and half my age); so anyway, I got him some "drummer" t-shirts from ebay saying things like: "I Can't Keep Calm, I'm a Drummer!" and "I'm a Drummer: I Like to Bang!" (and his really cute girlfriend liked it and hugged me over that one!). There's more drumming designs on there too in a variety of colors.

And the day before that when I saw him at a trade show in Montreal we were both exhibiting at, I'd bought him a pair of LED color-changing drum sticks that randomly changed colors as they were hit -- he drummed with them in his booth when no attendees were in the exhibit hall (I have to admit, for just $20 -- they were really cool!). Now he uses them to start off his drum solo with the stage lights off, but he has to switch over to real sticks as his solo really takes off.

Maybe band t-shirts that feature his favorite drummers too.

Hope these ideas help.

Old No7

Yamaha MODX6 * Hammond SK Pro 73 * Roland Fantom-08 * Crumar Mojo Pedals * Mackie Thump 12As * Tascam DP-24SD * JBL 305 MkIIs

A drummer I work with unabashedly tells everyone the favourite part of his kit is his drinks caddy.

This thingie?