Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

"Pro" - help define. Plus bonus question.....

I often see ads for musicians who claim to be "pros". When this term is used, what is the intent of the meaning?

- You're a really good player, but make no money playing?

- You're a touring musician?

- You make money playing locally?

- You've been playing a certain number of years in which after x number of years you've attained pro status?

I also see it in want ads. Looking for a pro keyboard player for some local band who needs a keyboard player. What are the traits that qualify me to say "yes, I'm a pro keyboard player" that you are looking for?

Followup question:

When musicians place ads they often use the term 'experience" as in I have 20 years experience, even though they are not quite 30 years old. I've always equated experience to when I joined my first band that actually played regularly out. So what is the intent when the word 'experienced' is used?

57 Hammond B3; 69 Hammond L100P; 68 Leslie 122; Kurzweil Forte7 & PC3; M-Audio Code 61; Voce V5+; Neo Vent; EV ELX112P; GSI Gemini & Burn

Delaware Dave

Exit93band

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I reckon a few resumes get padded from time to time in that regard!

I"ve never advertised myself, but if I were motivated to, I wouldn"t use terms like 'pro' which as you rightly point out seem to mean different things to different people. I would simply outline my specific experiences to help the hirer decide whether or not I"m worth bothering with.

When we"ve auditioned musicians I generally take terms like 'pro' with a grain of salt. We request pre-audition demos and then assess attitude and demeanour before during and after the audition process. Plus everyone kind of knows everyone around here anyway.

I often see ads for musicians who claim to be "pros". When this term is used, what is the intent of the meaning?