Music Player Network
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Sort of OT: Are prices on New Keyboards, etc , too high ?
#3039385 04/18/20 01:18 PM
G
GregC Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
G
Getting caveats out of the way:

-I don't work , in any capacity, for any of the large keyboard co's, or software co's, or amp co's, accessories, etc etc.

-Also, I do not work for any music equipment retailer. I have Zero affiliation with any music production co and/or retailer.
I am not a developer of sound programming

IOW, I have no skin in the seller game. Nobody owns me. My 4 cats, yes, but thats not the topic.

Strictly a consumer, just another guy buying stuff now and then.

I know my finance, worked for 3 decades on financial statement analysis for large corps.
Thus, I know the numbers game. I know budgets and understand risk/reward, etc etc.

I personally think, that todays $3000 keyboards are over priced. Especially the co's of such
boards that have been milking the same old cow for 5 years, 10 years. and so on.
I don't see this as pressure to large co's to reduce their
profit margin, lower prices could result in making work life more difficult for worker bee's.
I know corporate capitalism is harsh.

I have a notion that the current health and economic crisis is going to reduce prices.

If these co's see sales slump, month after month, we might see long over due price reduction.
Lets say a 25% decrease.

FYI, I have no success predicting the stock market.

Your turn.. for opinion about todays expensive New keyboard stuff prices. And your sense of what is going down
in 3 months, or 6 months.

Last edited by GregC; 04/19/20 02:23 AM.
KC Island
Re: Sort of OT: Are prices on Keyboards, etc , too high ?
GregC #3039386 04/18/20 01:23 PM
CEB Online Content
10k Club
Online Content
10k Club
Pro boards are cheaper now than ever.

"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne