Music Player Network
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Updating to Catalina! Success story
#3035938 03/31/20 07:18 PM
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
Platinum Member
OP Online Content
Platinum Member
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
I've felt it was inevitable and waited a while to allow more information availablity and de-bugging to occur. I'm lazy like that.
First step was to move archived resources around until I had space to create 2 bootable external drives with High Sierra and all of my applications. Done and tested, there is a path back to my safety zone if I need it.

Next step - update my Arturia, Izotope, IK Multimedia, Native Intruments and Presonus softwares. These companies all make it very easy, much appreciated. The Presonus update for Universal Control automatically brought up the latest firmware update for my Quantum interface. The Waveform DAW just came out with an upgrade, installed.

I ran the update for Catalina from the Apple App Store, you can still get High Sierra and Mojave at this point so it seemed a good time to jump in. I installed late last night, did some testing and found that Waveform 11 (just released) would play back, allow me to create drum beats from plugins but it the input from the Quantum did not work in Waveform. After trying the things that came to mind at that point, I gave up and jumped back in this morning.

Long story short, I found this page on the Sweetwater website. https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/articles/macos-10-15-catalina-optimization-guide-for-recording/

I followed all the instructions - there are quite a few of them!!! Now it works!!!!! HUGE Kudos to Sweetwater for this resource!!! Disclaimer: I am a paying customer for Sweetwater, no other connections.

I can even use my Adobe Photoshop Elements 2018, I thought I would lose that and it's handy around here. Works fine.
Since others may have tried to get Catalina running and ended up going back to a previous system I thought I would share this.

Yes, you will probably lose your 32 bit goodies. I have way too many plugins already so it doesn't bother me. That's another project, organizing and cleaning up the plug in barrage. I've got a custom set of folders already and Waveform will keep a dozen or so of the last plugins I use in a folder at the top called Favorites. That's handy.


There is never enough time to be in a hurry...
Re: Updating to Catalina! Success story
KuruPrionz #3036032 04/01/20 03:11 PM
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
Platinum Member
OP Online Content
Platinum Member
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
Recorded some tracks last night, probably had latency set a tick to short, there were a couple of tiny pops. One more click should take care of that.

Otherwise, smooth sailing. The Joy of re-sorting plugins begins, Waveform 11 has 128 plugins included. I probably have quite a few of them sorted already.


There is never enough time to be in a hurry...
Re: Updating to Catalina! Success story
KuruPrionz #3036074 04/01/20 06:27 PM
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
Platinum Member
OP Online Content
Platinum Member
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
I've been able to use Painter 2016, Adobe Photoshop and Premier Elements 2018. Turns out they are all 64 bit but have small chunks that are 32 bit.

The same may be true for other software.

I used Go 64 and some of the applications show a yellow triangle with an exclaimation point. Clicking on that brought up a line of text at the bottom of the window.
Painter 2016 is 64 bit but the Leopard Add-On is 32 bit. Leopard was a LONG time ago.

4 year old software and it runs.

It might be smart to check all of your applications and see what is truly 32 bit. I am running some stuff that showed 32 bit but is mostly not. Digging a little deeper has been rewarding.

Go64 is free.


There is never enough time to be in a hurry...
Re: Updating to Catalina! Success story
KuruPrionz #3036137 04/01/20 11:49 PM
Joined: Jun 2019
Posts: 606
Likes: 29
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Jun 2019
Posts: 606
Likes: 29
Thanks for this, Kuru. I encourage other people who make the move to Catalina to post their experiences here as well.


Dr. Mike Metlay (PhD in nuclear physics, golly gosh) grin
Janitor and Hall Monitor, Dr. Mike's Studio Workshop

clicky!: more about me ~ my schwag ~ my radio station (and my fam) ~ my local tribe ~ my day job
Re: Updating to Catalina! Success story
KuruPrionz #3037908 04/09/20 10:15 PM
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
Platinum Member
OP Online Content
Platinum Member
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
Today I updated to v 10.15.4, the latest update.
So far so good, one of the two folders in the Relocated Items folder on the Desktop has disappeared, which could be due to them now having a place to be.
The Configuration folder has a folder within a folder within a folder that contains 8 bits of software.

Makes my tiny brain hurt but everything works fine so I'll worry about it later or never.

Haven't had any crashes, glitches or inabilitiy to use my software. So far so good.


There is never enough time to be in a hurry...
Re: Updating to Catalina! Success story
KuruPrionz #3038039 04/10/20 11:33 AM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 899
Likes: 58
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 899
Likes: 58
One of the other guys in my IT group has been running Catalina since it was in beta... I'm sure it will be fine, but now that I actually use my MacBook for live performance, I think I'll sit with Mojave for a little while longer. Good to know I can check in here if I have questions.


Samuel B. Lupowitz
Composer. Arranger. Musician. Food Enthusiast. Bad Pun Aficionado.
Re: Updating to Catalina! Success story
samuelblupowitz #3038245 04/11/20 04:44 AM
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
Platinum Member
OP Online Content
Platinum Member
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
Originally Posted by samuelblupowitz
One of the other guys in my IT group has been running Catalina since it was in beta... I'm sure it will be fine, but now that I actually use my MacBook for live performance, I think I'll sit with Mojave for a little while longer. Good to know I can check in here if I have questions.

I'm happy to help to the extent I am able. I got most of my useful answers from the Sweetwater page above. All the procedures I describe in the OP that I did are just common sense safety backups.
If you are running Mojave you've got more time. I wanted to move up from High Sierra, hard to say how long it will be posted.

Again, I was surprised that my Painter 2016 software runs perfectly fine. I got it when it first came out, introductory upgrade. Since I haven't used it much but it is a fantastic program, I kept it to see what it would do. Nary a glitch.
So you are probably safe to prepare and upgrade during this time of self quarantine. We have zero gigs on the books up here, guessing you are in the same boat?

https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/articles/macos-10-15-catalina-optimization-guide-for-recording/


There is never enough time to be in a hurry...
Re: Updating to Catalina! Success story
KuruPrionz #3039009 04/16/20 06:39 AM
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
Platinum Member
OP Online Content
Platinum Member
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
After the latest update I needed to go to System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Privacy > Microphone and allow Waveform to use "my microphones".

I updated both Catalina and Waveform so not sure the source but it's fixed.


There is never enough time to be in a hurry...
Re: Updating to Catalina! Success story
KuruPrionz #3039968 04/21/20 05:07 PM
Joined: Jun 2019
Posts: 606
Likes: 29
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Jun 2019
Posts: 606
Likes: 29
The added security stuff can be a little annoying. I haven't figured out how to whitelist certain websites so you don't get an "are you sure?" EVERY time you want to download something...


Dr. Mike Metlay (PhD in nuclear physics, golly gosh) grin
Janitor and Hall Monitor, Dr. Mike's Studio Workshop

clicky!: more about me ~ my schwag ~ my radio station (and my fam) ~ my local tribe ~ my day job
Re: Updating to Catalina! Success story
Dr Mike Metlay #3039992 04/21/20 08:00 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 21,308
Likes: 39
Triple Secret Banninated
20k Club
Offline
Triple Secret Banninated
20k Club
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 21,308
Likes: 39
Originally Posted by Dr Mike Metlay
The added security stuff can be a little annoying. I haven't figured out how to whitelist certain websites so you don't get an "are you sure?" EVERY time you want to download something...

Safari - Preferences - Websites select Downloads in the left column and you should be able to adjust the overall setting as well as for each website you've previously downloaded from.

Attached Files
Screen Shot 2020-04-21 at 2.58.22 PM.png (440.48 KB, 47 downloads)

The great thing about music is that there's always something to learn. The frustrating thing about music is that there's always something to learn!
2 members like this: Dr Mike Metlay, Dr Mike Metlay
Re: Updating to Catalina! Success story
KuruPrionz #3040143 04/22/20 08:48 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,552
Likes: 1
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,552
Likes: 1
I'm still on macOS 10.13 (High Sierra). I've heard the stories about Catalina and I appreciate this thread and its resources. My question is can I safely go from macOS 10.13 (High Sierra) to 10.4 (Mojave) without any glitches or problems? I'm trying to take this one step at a time. I just ordered some software that requires 10.4 or greater is the reason I ask.

After finding this thread, I am considering taking a chance and just go ahead and updating to Catalina (and will eventually anyway) based on what I'm seeing in this thread. Or I may wait for a few more people to adopt it before taking the plunge.



Kronos 88 | MODX7 | KeyLab 61 | CPS SSv3 | MacBook Pro | MainStage | More VSTs than I'll ever figure out

http://www.reverbnation.com/bradmize
http://www.cdbaby.com/bradmize
Re: Updating to Catalina! Success story
midinut #3040149 04/22/20 10:03 PM
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
Platinum Member
OP Online Content
Platinum Member
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
Originally Posted by midinut
I'm still on macOS 10.13 (High Sierra). I've heard the stories about Catalina and I appreciate this thread and its resources. My question is can I safely go from macOS 10.13 (High Sierra) to 10.4 (Mojave) without any glitches or problems? I'm trying to take this one step at a time. I just ordered some software that requires 10.4 or greater is the reason I ask.

After finding this thread, I am considering taking a chance and just go ahead and updating to Catalina (and will eventually anyway) based on what I'm seeing in this thread. Or I may wait for a few more people to adopt it before taking the plunge.


Hi midinut,
At the very least, I highly recommend you consider creating your "path back home" while High Sierra is still available from Apple's App Store.
If you don't have a spare hard drive, get one. Use Disk Utilities to prepare it for Mac OS and then run the installation. At a certain point in the installation you will be asked if you want to copy anything from your boot drive. Click yes and then click on the options you want to copy. At the very least, copy your Applications.

Even if you wait a while to go to Catalina or even just move to Mohave, you can run all of your current software by plugging in the backup drive, restarting the computer and holding down the Option key. That will give you the option to boot from the external drive with a copy of all of your Appllications. I would test this as soon as you've created the external boot drive, then you know you have a way to keep your present workflow.

That's what I did and I haven't had to use it at all. I was pretty surprised that Painter 2016 worked fine but it did.

Catalina is fairly mature now, I waited but I don't regret moving to it at all or skipping Mojave.

I would also recommend using the link in the OP to go to the page on the Sweetwater website with all the handy tips and tricks for using Catalina. When that page is open, go to File > Print in your browser (both Safari and Firefox have this, probably others do too). In the lower left corner is a button that says PDF, the drop down menu will have "Save As PDF". Save that onto both of your drives and even if they eventually take it down you will have it handy.

Hope all this helps!!! Cheers, Kuru


There is never enough time to be in a hurry...
Re: Updating to Catalina! Success story
KuruPrionz #3040276 04/23/20 10:52 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,552
Likes: 1
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,552
Likes: 1
Thanks Kuru:

I've got a boatload of VSTs that I'm worried may or may not yet be compatible with Catalina (which is why I haven't taken the plunge yet). Most of the major players (Native Instruments, Arturia, Spectrasonics, Steinberg, Ableton, and of course all the Apple stuff. I didn't see High Sierra or Mojave either one in the App Store. The only OS option is Catalina (for me), unless I'm doing something stupid. What do we know of VSTs that WILL NOT run on Catalina? If all my stuff is going to work fine under Catalina, I would just as soon skip Mojave and go straight to Catalina. Let me research myself which software is not working on Catalina yet.

I will for sure save and print out that Sweetwater guide posted above. Thanks again for the heads up!



Kronos 88 | MODX7 | KeyLab 61 | CPS SSv3 | MacBook Pro | MainStage | More VSTs than I'll ever figure out

http://www.reverbnation.com/bradmize
http://www.cdbaby.com/bradmize
Re: Updating to Catalina! Success story
KuruPrionz #3040291 04/24/20 01:01 AM
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
Platinum Member
OP Online Content
Platinum Member
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
Go here:

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208969

Down the page there is a link to High Sierra. Step 4, the sentence below the box about Catalina has the High Sierra link, it will open App Store.
App Store had a pop-up ad with a Continue button. It took me straight to an installable High Sierra.

So it is still there - get it while you can!

Mojave is not that big of an upgrade, I'd create backups and just skip right to Catalina. High Sierra works fine. I'm sure you could find Mojave if you really want it and make your backup disk with that.
Then if your VSTs don't work you still have a bootable disk you can use them on.

I used Go64 software - it's free.

https://www.stclairsoft.com/Go64/

It quickly sorted which of my software files contained 32 bit data. What it didn't tell me was that some of my software had non-essential chunks that were 32 bit and the rest was 64 bit. If I recall correctly, Painter 2016 had a bit that allowed it to work in a much older OS X system. All the stuff that doesn't work in Catalina will end up in a folder on your desktop called Relocated Items. I've still got way too many plugins, am sorting them into Custom folders according to type. Waveform sorted them into their folder system but it didn't always make as much sense to me as my system. It's a LOT of work!!!
I do use plugins but I have way too many that I don't use. I give them a spin and if they offer something I really like I keep. If not, I want as much stuff gone as I can possibly get rid of!!!!
Plugin clutter is just a waste of time in my opinion.

You can also go to About this Mac > Overview > System Report (it's near the bottom of the window just right of the center) and find your various bits but it isn't nearly as fast or easy as Go64.
Neither of them will really tell you what actually runs and what does not. I can't say I miss anything that wouldn't work, I've never been tempted to use my backup drive. Still glad to have one though!

I've long since stopped using VSTs if an AU version is offered. By the way, the Apple system has some nice AU plugins included. I am a big fan of AUNew Pitch and the aUGraphic EQ - there are many more that I haven't explored yet.


There is never enough time to be in a hurry...
Re: Updating to Catalina! Success story
KuruPrionz #3040315 04/24/20 04:18 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,552
Likes: 1
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,552
Likes: 1
Thanks for all the help and guidance. I am going through a compatibility checking for all my hardware and software to see if they are compliant or not. THAT will take a day or two. lol
I have been using Logic Pro X ever since I got my MacBook but I bought into Cubase back around SX version on the PC and have a bunch invested. It has some amazing plug-ins as well. And after all, they are the ones who started this whole VST thing in the first place! I added Absolute 4 VST Collection a few years ago. Since Yamaha bought Steinberg, I have about all the sounds in my VSTs that I have in my hardware. I also have Arturia V-Collection 7 and that adds just about every synth I ever lusted after to my collection.

Who would have thought or imagined all this 30-40 years ago?



Kronos 88 | MODX7 | KeyLab 61 | CPS SSv3 | MacBook Pro | MainStage | More VSTs than I'll ever figure out

http://www.reverbnation.com/bradmize
http://www.cdbaby.com/bradmize
Re: Updating to Catalina! Success story
KuruPrionz #3040323 04/24/20 05:05 AM
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
Platinum Member
OP Online Content
Platinum Member
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
As I've mentioned, be aware that something may come up incompatible and still work.
My Adobe Elements Software had some sort of Adobe website browser - more a marketing thing than a useful tool
It was 32 bit. Photoshop and Premiere Elements run fine, they are 64 bit. I just can't use the thing I don't really want anyway.

It's never a bad idea to have a backup of your files. I've got a couple of those too. Replacing all that work would be impossible, passing it along from drive to drive is pretty cheap insurance.


There is never enough time to be in a hurry...
Re: Updating to Catalina! Success story
KuruPrionz #3041887 05/03/20 10:06 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,552
Likes: 1
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,552
Likes: 1
I found a guide in the Apple Support forum on how to upgrade from High Sierra to Mojave. I think I may take that approach for starters. I recently purchased Steinberg's VST Connect Pro in hopes that my band and I can do some recording while we are quarantined. It requires macOS Mojave or later (which means it works with Catalina too). I have done a Time Machine backup already and will give it a shot. I eventually will upgrade to Catalina, but when I did check compatibility on all my software, there are still a few stragglers that haven't made their stuff compliant yet. Nothing mission critical mind you. More of the rare boutique stuff.



Kronos 88 | MODX7 | KeyLab 61 | CPS SSv3 | MacBook Pro | MainStage | More VSTs than I'll ever figure out

http://www.reverbnation.com/bradmize
http://www.cdbaby.com/bradmize
Re: Updating to Catalina! Success story
KuruPrionz #3041902 05/03/20 11:47 PM
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
Platinum Member
OP Online Content
Platinum Member
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 57
Sound good! Bear in mind they may err on the side of caution.

I did wait for the latest update to Waveform 11 before jumping in although I've been using the 64 bit version since 8 and 10 does run fine on Catalina.

Upward and sidewayser!!!! Cheers, Kuru


There is never enough time to be in a hurry...

Moderated by  Dr Mike Metlay 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4