Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Tax changes and IRS info from the stimulus package

Some here know I'm a tax pro, specifically an Enrolled Agent. I just got this email from NAEA. I'm only posting the part I think might interest some people here. It goes into the depths of this package in way more detail than you'll ever see in the news. I know some here run small businesses or have authority in a small business. There are changes to retirement distributions penalty abatements, charity contributions, filing dates, NOL carryover/carrybacks and a whole ton of information that I think some here could use. If anybody has any questions feel free to post them in this thread or PM me.

Congress Cares ...

Late Wednesday night, the Senate passed in a 96-0 vote the $2 trillion (yes, with a 't') Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Recovery Act (Cares Act) and then adjourned until April 20. The House is expected to pass the bill sometime today, without necessitating the full chamber assembling to vote, barring any procedural hiccups.

The CARES Act includes 14 new tax provisions as well as additional IRS funding for operations and implementation ($293.5 million for taxpayer service; $170 million for operations support; $37.2 million for enforcement). The statutory language is here, and a summary of the tax and unemployment insurance provisions are here. Here is what we see as the most important tax elements:

Individual Provisions

§2201. 2020 Recovery Rebates for Individuals

Recovery rebate for each taxpayer of $1,200 ($2,400 for joint returns).

Plus $500 for every qualifying child.

Rebates are means tested and begin phasing out after $75,000 adjusted gross income (AGI) (single), $112,500, (HoH), and $150,000 (MFJ).

The rebate amount is reduced by $5 for each $100 a taxpayer"s income exceeds the phase-out threshold and completely phased-out at $99,000/$198,000 (single/MFJ).

No payment without proper tax identification numbers.