Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How Can Non-Drummers Get Realistic-Sounding Drum Parts?

HA HA, Beavis, you said "NEVER PLAY A ROLL WHEN A VOCALIST IS SINGING and don't fight with another lead instrument." That should almost be in every band's charter. When did anyone truly fail by pulling back and playing two notes instead of seven? Not as an absolute, but also not a bad starting point.

I don't try to kid myself into thinking I'm a drummer trapped in a keyboardist's brain, but I do a lot of finger drumming. I use an XKey and the short throw makes it surprisingly workable. I build some things completely by hand, using two or three tracks to fit it all in if needed, hooray for DAWs. I have a near-unholy mass of arps & loops that came with various pieces of hardware & software, as well as a colorful collection of free WAV sets from many years of casual surfing. Some of them naturally become part of the bones of things, since they're a collaboration between you and the designer. I like to humanize anything semi-auomated with a hand-played layer or two. I also truck in a fair amount of strangeness & tympani-bending, so "realistic-sounding" isn't my first priority. :cool:

"I want to be an intellectual, but I don't have the brainpower.
  The absent-mindedness, I've got that licked."
        ~ John Cleese

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Funny, as I"m just the opposite. A well played part with feeling trumps tone every time unless that tone is so bad as to be objectionable. Oh, well :)

Actually I said " I think appropriateness of the part being played is probably the more important of the two" so we're on the same page. But I don't dismiss the sound, because to me, what makes a drum part come alive is the dynamics, the pedal working the hi-hat, the way the sound of a drum changes when you hit it in different places...