Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

The Price of Covid-19

The Flemtones lost their drummer, Mr. Orlando Staton, to COVID-19 on Friday.

I had been playing with him since 1974 in various incarnations of the same high-school band, lastly in our current line-up. He was a great drummer, a wonderful friend and the kindest, gentlest soul I have ever and possibly will ever meet. Our last show together (and the last one for the Flemtones, obviously) was on February 28th, our 34th Anniversary playing a monthly gig at a pub in northern NJ. Three weeks after that, he was gone.

No idea why I'm posting this here, except that fellow bassists will know the special relationship between themselves and drummers. That glance, the wink, the nod, the smile that says 'let's show 'em how it's done'...I'll no longer share that with this brother-in-arms.

Anyway, salute - Mr. Orlando Staton. Gentle soul, loving husband to Donna, heart and soul of the Flemtones and good friend, gone much too soon.

[video:youtube]

735.thumb.jpg.ee541f16ffffbc3f3fb2f0d37b250518.jpg

736.thumb.jpg.e0f65bfe301787b5e10c8979d476adbe.jpg

Play. Just play.

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Rest In Peace, Orlando.

I am sorry to hear about your loss. Family is more than genetic lineage.

I am so grateful for my own "family" up here, yesterday I contacted many and today there will be many more to touch bases with.

Be well, be safe!!! Cheers, Kuru

It took a chunk of my life to get here and I am still not sure where "here" is.