Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Best Practices

A thread about the best practice tips/methods you have learned:

- when I was a much younger pianist I took lessons with Dave Frank. He told me the goal of every practice should be relaxation of the muscles; whether I am playing Hanon, chord progressions, Charlie Parker solos, or improv or whatever, that my goal should be to be relaxed and to release tension in my body.

- learn classical piano pieces. My playing really grew it when I dedicated a portion of my piano day to classical piano music. Not only was I forced to move my fingers in ways my jazzing and rocking self would never demand, I was forced to play with dynamics, pay attention to staccato and legato, and consider phrasing. In addition, my ears was learning a host of new sounds and new application for old sounds (Gurlitt using lots of #11s, etc.). The improvements in my physical playing gave me a big boost of confidence that spread over all my playing.

- play it in all the keys. Peter Martin said in one of his 2-minute instructional videos that when you learn a new song, you should play it in all keys. I haven't yet met that goal, but I have been doing all my major, minor, and blues improv in all keys. This has been a good practice for me, helping to shrink the distance between the keys where I feel comfortable and the keys where I feel uncomfortable.

- your ideas?

J.S. Bach Well Tempered Klavier

The collected works of Scott Joplin

Ray Charles Genius plus Soul

Charlie Parker Omnibook

Stevie Wonder Songs in the Key of Life

Weather Report Mr. Gone

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic