Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Yamaha P515

What"s the opinion on this model?

Find 660 of my jazz piano arrangements of standards for educational purposes and tutorials at www.Patreon.com/HarryLikas Harry was the Technical Editor of Mark Levine's "The Jazz Theory Book" and helped develop "The Jazz Piano Book."

It's a great instrument, great action and ditto piano sound. I was going back and forth between it and the MP11SE and went for the latter, because the key action was more to my taste. Your student won't regret using the P515.
Trumpet player by trade, but fell in love with keys too.

I'm not sure what the equivalent Kawai model would be...

I've played the P515 for about fifteen minutes in a quiet music store using the built-in speakers. I'm not a fan of the NWX action, as I feel it's a little slow and soft. Soundwise it was very good for pianos, not very good for anything else (mostly recycled Yamaha clavinova sounds from twenty years ago). A Kawai ES8 is more expensive, but would be my suggestion. That has a much better action, comparable pianos, and I think a slightly-better assortment of other sounds.

FYI that action is also on the CP88, and they feel almost identical.

Yamaha: Motif XF8, MODX7, YS200, CVP-305, CLP-130, YPG-235, PSR-295, PSS-470 | Roland: Fantom 7, JV-1000

Kurzweil: PC3-76, PC4 (88) | Hammond: SK Pro 73 | Korg: Triton LE 76, N1R, X5DR | Emu: Proteus/1 | Casio: CT-370 | Novation: Launchkey 37 MK3 | Technics: WSA1R

Former: Emu Proformance Plus & Mo'Phatt, Korg Krome 61, Roland Fantom XR & JV-1010, Yamaha MX61, Behringer CAT

Assorted electric & acoustic guitars and electric basses | Roland TD-17 KVX | Alesis SamplePad Pro | Assorted organs, accordions, other instruments