Music Player Network
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Remoting to stop thermal problems
#3012122 10/13/19 03:57 AM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 3
Platinum Member
OP Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 3
my ASUS lap goes in to thermal shutdown after so many minutes on an open internet site.
What if I remote into a PC with no heat issues and use its internet browser?


Triton Extreme 76, Kawai ES3, GEM-RPX, HX3/Drawbar control, MSI Z97
MPower/4790K, Lynx Aurora 8/MADI/AES16e, OP-X PRO, Ptec, Komplete.
Ashley MX-206. future MOTU M64 RME Digiface Dante for Mon./net
Re: Remoting to stop thermal problems
Throbert #3012143 10/13/19 12:19 PM
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
D
Member
Offline
Member
D
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
You could try it. But you'd be better off fixing the thermal problem. Check the fan, the fan ducting to make sure it's not full of dust and make sure the heat sink is still on. If the heat sink is still on, redo the thermal grease on the CPU. Also make sure the vents on the side are clear of any obstruction. Like don't set your laptop on thick carpet on the ground.

Re: Remoting to stop thermal problems
DevonB #3012155 10/13/19 01:38 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 3
Platinum Member
OP Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 3
Originally Posted by DevonB
You could try it. But you'd be better off fixing the thermal problem. Check the fan, the fan ducting to make sure it's not full of dust and make sure the heat sink is still on. If the heat sink is still on, redo the thermal grease on the CPU. Also make sure the vents on the side are clear of any obstruction. Like don't set your laptop on thick carpet on the ground.
Yea, been through all that, this thing has always ran hot since new, what with windows 10 and all the ever more resource hungry browsers. I'm thinking this might be the least expensive option for me since I have a PC laying around here doing nothing.
Thanks for the reply


Triton Extreme 76, Kawai ES3, GEM-RPX, HX3/Drawbar control, MSI Z97
MPower/4790K, Lynx Aurora 8/MADI/AES16e, OP-X PRO, Ptec, Komplete.
Ashley MX-206. future MOTU M64 RME Digiface Dante for Mon./net
Re: Remoting to stop thermal problems
Throbert #3012254 10/14/19 11:39 AM
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
D
Member
Offline
Member
D
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
Ya, it can be processor dependent. Some just happen to run hotter than others even within the same family and type. Sure, absolutely see if RDP runs with less CPU usage and use your laptop as a terminal. I've done that for my wife's laptop so she could have full access to her desktop no matter where she was sitting in the house or where her desktop was. This wasn't for thermal reasons but for convenience reasons. Works great.

Devon

Re: Remoting to stop thermal problems
Throbert #3012407 10/15/19 10:14 AM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 3
Platinum Member
OP Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 3
I'll eventually pull out the old beast, fire it up and see if it can handle an install of 10.
It has XP 64 in it now


Triton Extreme 76, Kawai ES3, GEM-RPX, HX3/Drawbar control, MSI Z97
MPower/4790K, Lynx Aurora 8/MADI/AES16e, OP-X PRO, Ptec, Komplete.
Ashley MX-206. future MOTU M64 RME Digiface Dante for Mon./net
Re: Remoting to stop thermal problems
Throbert #3012481 10/15/19 07:07 PM
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
D
Member
Offline
Member
D
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
XP? Probably not. That laptop is what? 15? 20 years old? There is a checker to see if Windows 10 can run on it though. Give it a shot.

Devon

Re: Remoting to stop thermal problems
Throbert #3012511 10/15/19 10:19 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 3
Platinum Member
OP Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 3
I bought the G60jx lap in 2008 so it's 11, 12 years old, it didn't have any problems with
10 accept for the stupid stuff MS does, but then I installed 10 Enterprise 2016 LTSB
and had even less problems with it.
the old beast has an ASUS Maximus Extreme from back in 2004 or 5 but it can do 64
bit so I think it will be alright


Triton Extreme 76, Kawai ES3, GEM-RPX, HX3/Drawbar control, MSI Z97
MPower/4790K, Lynx Aurora 8/MADI/AES16e, OP-X PRO, Ptec, Komplete.
Ashley MX-206. future MOTU M64 RME Digiface Dante for Mon./net
Re: Remoting to stop thermal problems
Throbert #3013861 10/26/19 08:11 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 3
Platinum Member
OP Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 3
I've been noticing that in the evenings, 7:30 on MDT and on the weekends I don't get hardly any thermal issues
makes me think it's more about activity causing my security to load down my system and heat it up.


Triton Extreme 76, Kawai ES3, GEM-RPX, HX3/Drawbar control, MSI Z97
MPower/4790K, Lynx Aurora 8/MADI/AES16e, OP-X PRO, Ptec, Komplete.
Ashley MX-206. future MOTU M64 RME Digiface Dante for Mon./net
Re: Remoting to stop thermal problems
Throbert #3019612 12/15/19 09:51 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 3
Platinum Member
OP Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 3
So I loaded and ran GPU and a CPU thermal monitor apps I found online and it's My GPU that's
causing the problem, GPU can climb in to the 90's C while the CPU is in the 70's and since they
both use the same cooler I figure the CPU is getting some of the heat as well. Makes me wonder
if a remote setup will help that much now. going to have to try redoing the thermal compound
maybe add some little heatsyncs.


Triton Extreme 76, Kawai ES3, GEM-RPX, HX3/Drawbar control, MSI Z97
MPower/4790K, Lynx Aurora 8/MADI/AES16e, OP-X PRO, Ptec, Komplete.
Ashley MX-206. future MOTU M64 RME Digiface Dante for Mon./net
Re: Remoting to stop thermal problems
Throbert #3019725 12/16/19 06:15 PM
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
D
Member
Offline
Member
D
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
I wouldn't doubt the thermal paste has dried up and needs to be re-applied with fresh paste.Not having a good 'seating' can dramatically change the temps.

Re: Remoting to stop thermal problems
Throbert #3022238 01/06/20 06:29 AM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 3
Platinum Member
OP Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 3
Disabled the NVIDIA driver and running on the MS basic display driver. Thermal issues are gone!
I lost my sleep options so I have to use hibernate but at least I'm not cooking steaks on it any
more. used an app to uninstall the driver, so to hell with that. other than that all is working fine.

Last edited by Throbert; 01/07/20 10:16 AM.

Triton Extreme 76, Kawai ES3, GEM-RPX, HX3/Drawbar control, MSI Z97
MPower/4790K, Lynx Aurora 8/MADI/AES16e, OP-X PRO, Ptec, Komplete.
Ashley MX-206. future MOTU M64 RME Digiface Dante for Mon./net
Re: Remoting to stop thermal problems
Throbert #3022913 01/10/20 02:28 PM
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
D
Member
Offline
Member
D
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
Fantastic, glad to hear. Still means something is wrong as it shouldn't be overheating, but for what you want it for, it doesn't matter, and it'll give you more legs for making the laptop last for now.

Re: Remoting to stop thermal problems
Throbert #3023172 01/11/20 06:34 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 3
Platinum Member
OP Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 3
It's still the same GPU so it's a driver issue not a hardware issue. A lot of others with the same
problems, from my searches, even with newer gear and Nvidia just ignores the problem. I only
want integrated when ever I buy new next time, enough with this crap.
RT


Triton Extreme 76, Kawai ES3, GEM-RPX, HX3/Drawbar control, MSI Z97
MPower/4790K, Lynx Aurora 8/MADI/AES16e, OP-X PRO, Ptec, Komplete.
Ashley MX-206. future MOTU M64 RME Digiface Dante for Mon./net
Re: Remoting to stop thermal problems
Throbert #3023311 01/12/20 08:52 PM
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
D
Member
Offline
Member
D
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
I'd say it's a design issue or whatever heatsink is on the video card has come loose. The video card that CAME WITH THE LAPTOP should not thermal down a laptop, period. Sure, it's possible that a driver is in a runaway loop and pushes an overheat, it's possible. I doubt that's it though. You could try the raw nVidia drivers out there too if you like. Fortunately, many CPU's come with on chip video chips now. At any rate, I've had a few laptops with nVidia chips that work just fine and do not overheat.

Devon

Re: Remoting to stop thermal problems
Throbert #3029372 02/17/20 12:49 AM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 3
Platinum Member
OP Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 3
Oh, I found my thread,
Ok I was recommended a GPU OC App, MIS Afterburner, that can Underclock.
Gave it a shot and I'm now able to use the Nvidia driver again, only to get the
resolution I want and get my sleep option back. So for anyone in my situation
you might want to give MIS a look at.


Triton Extreme 76, Kawai ES3, GEM-RPX, HX3/Drawbar control, MSI Z97
MPower/4790K, Lynx Aurora 8/MADI/AES16e, OP-X PRO, Ptec, Komplete.
Ashley MX-206. future MOTU M64 RME Digiface Dante for Mon./net
Re: Remoting to stop thermal problems
Throbert #3030022 02/21/20 05:09 AM
Joined: Jun 2019
Posts: 606
Likes: 29
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Jun 2019
Posts: 606
Likes: 29
This is always an interesting issue, especially for laptops that can be hard to work on. Over the years, it's become trickier to get good sensor data from Macs, to the point where the maker of Hardware Monitor (a really great little app) finally chose to deprecate it a few years ago. I am currently using iStat Menus and am pretty happy with it, but I would love to know why Macs Fan Control has suddenly stopped working and refuses to launch on any of my machines...


Dr. Mike Metlay (PhD in nuclear physics, golly gosh) grin
Janitor and Hall Monitor, Dr. Mike's Studio Workshop

clicky!: more about me ~ my schwag ~ my radio station (and my fam) ~ my local tribe ~ my day job

Moderated by  Dr Mike Metlay 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4