Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How has Mixing changed your playing?

I am a jack of all trades master of none multi-instrumentalist. I will talk about acoustic guitar, but please comment about all other instruments.

Timing appears to be underrated, so I spend an embarrassing amount of time lining things up to a grid. My experience has informed me that great group timing in my world, is a very rare thing and as a master of none this is what seems to work for me*

More big open sound, less licks. I think more like a part of a rhythm section. Thinking a little less about the guitar tone and more of how does the sound and the part fit in a mix.

My big challenge is to change chords with a minimum of artifacts. Fast E - to C#m will be the death of me and I have been doing this for 40 years.

I have a "go-to" guitar setup. It is a Martin D-18 >Beyer M-160 >cloudlifter> Daking Pre-eq. recording with some equalization. I have been experimenting with a Maple back and sides 60's Goya M-24? as this sits in a mix in a way i like.

My awareness points to thinking like you are part of an audio play, where you are more of a character actor supporting the lead-be it vocal or lead instrument.

* I have chronic pain in my right shoulder and a type of R.A. Also left handed, I do practice to a metronome and practice parts to a click. At the end of the day it sounds better to me with a bit of nip and tuck.

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I am a jack of all trades master of none multi-instrumentalist. I will talk about acoustic guitar, but please comment about all other instruments.

Timing appears to be underrated, so I spend an embarrassing amount of time lining things up to a grid. My experience has informed me that great group timing in my world, is a very rare thing and as a master of none this is what seems to work for me.