Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Help ! Pa4X or Genos?

Hi guys,

I'm new here and also new in the market for an arranger/workstation or one or both? (already very confusion at the start).

I decided for a top quality keyboard, also because there is a local auction (new instruments/bankruptcy/av. 50%off) here going on for another few days

But since i have no experience whatsoever in the keyboard field, im more confused then ever now, especially after watching way too many YT comparisons, videos, demo's, masterclasses, etc.

I better start telling you what i need: I want to write some music and songs. That's basically it. Just get the best possible ( and not too complicated) tool to get my ideas expressed.

I will never be performing alone or in a band, not interested in playing along with existing music or songs.

Just work at home, preferably not too over technically - not going to create a studio at home - and try to write some music (with and without voice), record it and maybe send it to bands or performers.

Not as a perfectly finished product, just as a good demo.

I only hope to find the best sounding tool to do it with (because some do sound not-so-good!).

After all my research, i have reduced it to the PA4X and the Genos, but having said that, i might be missing a few other interesting candidates here.

The fact that the PA4X already came out 5 yrs ago, should that "older technology"- argument be taken into consideration too?

I am just a basic piano player, and i realize I'll need to learn alot before i can use the arranger/workstation or one of those.

I prefer not to take the DAW road only, i'm not a pro (or maybe i get this wrong too...)

I would be very greatful for any advice, I have another week to decide on what i'll make an offer.