Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Cam setup recording keys?

Hi,

I wonder if some of you have experience setting up cam or multiple cams for recording yourself playing keyboard/digital piano nowadays?

My idea: multiple cams -> for recording multiple angle video, then post-edit the content, switching between them. The goal is to show video of my performances. Audio could run through the computer (either produced by VST or audio input), but it's nice if the cam can pick up on my voice with quality, without it sounding overly thin. I know many cams don't have good quality audio. Another option I'd like to have is use a stand/tripod to do keys-overhead, but its not a must. For that I heard a wide angle cam is important.

Any pitfalls I should watch out for? Any recommendations in regard to cam models? Or would you go for a certain phone model instead? Can combine phone with cam at the same time setups? Wide angle lens? 1080p? DSLR?

I'm a rookie with this so some pointers into the right direction would be appreciated. I was hoping I could get things going for beneath $400.

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Experiment with your phone. You can get a tripod adapter on Amazon for $15 or so. You can certainly buy GoPro style action cams under $400, but give your phone a try and figure out what angles work, and how many you think you need.