Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Famous virtual sax riffs with SWAM and breath controller

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The Audio Modeling instruments are great, especially played with enough controllers for all articulation options. Am looking forward to their brass instruments which should be released anytime now.

I like Claudio's YouTube video's. The man has such energy and enthusiasm.

Trumpet player by trade, but fell in love with keys too.

Pretty good simulation. Would be acceptable to most non-sax players. Real sax players (i'm one) hear the synthetic sound right away. I have a Roland Aerophone AE-10 (wind controller). Some of the people who have this digital sax-like instrument use it with the SWAM sax sounds and like it.

If you want a really good sax sound and you don't play sax, hire a real sax player.

:wave:

These are only my opinions, not supported by any actual knowledge, experience, or expertise.

Wow. You guys are a lot more discriminating than I am. I thought he sounded pretty damned good. Maybe not for a recording, but more than realistic enough for a live band in a club - maybe in addition to a real sax player to round out a section. I used to play a Yamaha WX5 controller into a VL70m, but I never got it sounding that good.

Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.

-Mark Twain

The question I have for myself (and I own a Rise49 and SWAM viola) is where could I actually use this?

The sound realism is maybe 85%, because it"s modeled, and dead-on real phrasing is tough. Okay. So I wouldn"t use this where the sax is 'the" lead instrument. I wouldn"t use it in a bare mix. But it might add something when inside a mix that could cover up the deficiencies. After all this is going on in every film that has CGI effects.