Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Help remembering an old 80's synth

I was thinking about my first keyboards when I started playing in 1984. I had just subscribed to Keyboard magazine back then and was drooling over all the toys I couldn't afford, especially the Synclavier and Fairlight.

But I'm specifically trying to recall a keyboard that was released in the mid to late 80's (not made by the big three btw).... it was dark gray plastic, with a small rectangular display, 61 keys, with square buttons on the front panel. Also kind of boxy looking with no knobs and very few sliders IIRC.

Any help is appreciated.

When an eel hits your eye like a big pizza pie, that's a Moray.

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I was thinking about my first keyboards when I started playing in 1984. I had just subscribed to Keyboard magazine back then and was drooling over all the toys I couldn't afford, especially the Synclavier and Fairlight.

But I'm specifically trying to recall a keyboard that was released in the mid to late 80's (not made by the big three btw).... it was dark gray plastic, with a small rectangular display, 61 keys, with square buttons on the front panel. Also kind of boxy looking with no knobs and very few sliders IIRC.

Any help is appreciated.

Sounds a lot like one of Casio's CZ series? The CZ-1000 or maybe the CZ-1?

Casio CZ-1000 VIntage Synth Explorer

Casio CZ-1

"Monsters are real, and Ghosts are real too. They live inside us, and sometimes, they win." Stephen King

http://www.novparolo.com

https://thewinstonpsmithproject.bandcamp.com

.... it was dark gray plastic, with a small rectangular display, 61 keys, with square buttons on the front panel. Also kind of boxy looking with no knobs and very few sliders IIRC.

It is a bit saddening to think just how many synthesizers of that era fit that description...