Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

"The Mandalorian"...Is It Just Me?

I get Disney+ because I have a subscription with ad-free Hulu. I like Star Wars (although not without qualification - I think Rogue One was better than the last two "official" Star Wars movies), and I'd heard buzz about the Mandalorian. So I watched the first episode.

And then I was hooked, so I watched the second...

Now, I didn't have high expectations, so maybe that colored my perception. But I thought it was excellent. I would pay the normal $6.99/month Disney+ charges just for it, assuming it continues on this level. Like the original Star Wars, it's more like a Western...it even quotes the theme of the lone gunman antihero bringing justice. I feel it's arguably truer to the original Star Wars ethos than the sequels/prequels.

But I also HAVE to mention the music. Those who saw my comments about Solo may remember that I felt the single biggest problem was the music, which was unrelenting. It's different in Mandalorian. The orchestral aspect is minimal, it's more about cinematic percussion and an overall more modern feel. IMHO it's a real asset to the visuals, and part of why the show succeeds. If the same person who scored this had done Solo, I'd be willing to bet the movie would have fared differently.

Of course, to see the show, you have to subscribe to Disney+ (or Hulu with HBO). But if you do, and you've seen the Manalorian...is it just me, or is it pretty damn good sci-fi in the Start Wars mold?!?

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I have not seen it, but one of the assistants in my classroom is a giant Star Wars fan, and he was going on about how surprised he was that he liked it, and recommended it to everyone.

I haven't seen it.