Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

I know I shouldn"t start another thread, but I just had to write this.

Okay, I am making an effort with playing a synth. Especially after buying a long discontinued synth, by thirty-one years. The Roland D-20. I figured, if I am going to really try and put some effort into this. I may as well buy an inexpensive keyboard. I managed to get a really good deal on it through Reverb.com. It has a built in Rhythm machine, and a sequencer. I know, it does NOT have USB, but I"m not concerned about that. I know, there are way better synths, on the market today, but with my income and bill"s. I need to watch my spending carefully. Besides, who says you have to have the latest toy? As most of you know me, and I know you do, and have read about my not wanting to play music, or think I am not good at it, or think I am talented enough? I am going to at least try? After all, the only way to get better, is to practice! I know, people have told me this time an time again, and I am sorry I did not listen. This time, I am listening!

As for not connecting with gear, well I must admit the D-20 is a pretty decent synth. Although programming the thing, is a nightmare!

Life is too short and I"m not getting any younger, but at least I can try!

Thank you to everyone one here, for not giving up on me!

Paul :cool:

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Have fun!!!!

Music is supposed to be fun!!!

It is also supposed to be social.

If there are any Open Mics nearby, start checking them out. You don't have to bring an instrument or sign up, just go check out the scene.

When you find a supportive group, reach out and make new friends.

Learn a couple of songs and start performing.

I've seen lots of people grow over the years and become more confident and competent simply by attending open mic regularly and doing their thing, whatever that may be.