Music Player Network

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 12 of 13 1 2 10 11 12 13
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3015172 11/07/19 08:03 AM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 938
Mighty Motif Max Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 938
Tiago Mallen has just uploaded a demo of the Fantom! In Portuguese for the speaking portion, but playing starts at 8:30.


Yamaha: Motif XF8/YS200/CVP-305/CLP-130/YPG-235/PSR-295/PSS-470
Korg: Krome 61
Roland: JV-1000
Casio: CT-370
Kimball Valencia/Broadway/Conn 465 w/144 spkrs/WCOC Reed Organ/Titano Virtuoso Converter
KC Island
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3015260 11/08/19 12:12 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,935
G
GregC Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
G
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,935
I lucked out at a local GC. They had MODX 88 and a Fantom 88 next to each other.

I still like MODX for sure. It was inspiring in many ways.

for my music production, Fantom screams tomorrow and IMO sound programming is a higher level.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3015267 11/08/19 01:19 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,210
zephonic Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,210
Yes, never thought I’d say this but I’m looking forward to making tracks on the Fantom rather than in Cubase. I’ve concluded that my grooviest tracks were all started outside of the DAW. Something about Cubase just ain’t swinging.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: zephonic] #3015271 11/08/19 02:23 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,935
G
GregC Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
G
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,935
I think some song writers on keys are switching from their DAW back to hardware.

I am biased with my Kronos SEQ. whenever there's a hitch in my process , I find a solution.

I started to crack a new song on Fantom. Plan to study the recording process in depth to get
up to speed, determine if any issues, etc.

I am keeping my Kronos. And I am still waiting for Jan NAMM

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: GregC] #3015325 11/08/19 05:07 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,409
EscapeRocks Online Content
MP Hall of Fame Member
Online Content
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,409
Originally Posted by GregC
I lucked out at a local GC. They had MODX 88 and a Fantom 88 next to each other.

I still like MODX for sure. It was inspiring in many ways.

for my music production, Fantom screams tomorrow and IMO sound programming is a higher level.


Hey Greg, are the keys on the MODX8 similar to the older MOXF8? I can't find a place to try the MODX8. I am thinking about moving from my MODX6 to the MODX8. I know the description says they're both the GHS... just wondering if there's any difference in feel in the newer (MODX8) board.


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-S3000 | Arturia Keylab 61 | Mac Mini |

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: EscapeRocks] #3015326 11/08/19 05:16 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,935
G
GregC Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
G
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,935
Originally Posted by EscapeRocks
Originally Posted by GregC
I lucked out at a local GC. They had MODX 88 and a Fantom 88 next to each other.

I still like MODX for sure. It was inspiring in many ways.

for my music production, Fantom screams tomorrow and IMO sound programming is a higher level.


Hey Greg, are the keys on the MODX8 similar to the older MOXF8? I can't find a place to try the MODX8. I am thinking about moving from my MODX6 to the MODX8. I know the description says they're both the GHS... just wondering if there's any difference in feel in the newer (MODX8) board.


Hi, I can't say , as I did not own the MOX, 88 key.

I ran thru my scales and ARPS, left/right hand on the MODX 8. It felt pretty good.

I noticed a strange momentary decay at the end of a note value , sort of like a reverse after touch, while playing MODX 8 pianos.
It may be no big deal, and it might be due to demo condition. You know how keyboards get abused at GC.

If I were you, I would give the MODX 8 a solid demo. See if you local GC's will break open a factory MODX 8 box for you.
In my area, they are very accommodating , want to make a sale, etc etc.

If it wasn't for the new Fantom, MODX 8 would be a no brainer.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: GregC] #3015331 11/08/19 05:43 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 14,177
AnotherScott Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 14,177
Originally Posted by GregC
If it wasn't for the new Fantom, MODX 8 would be a no brainer.

Have you looked at the Kurzweil PC4? Tough competition for the MODX8, I think. Fantom is beyond my gig-weight limit, besides being in a different price range. But I do think it has the best control surface of the three.


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: AnotherScott] #3015334 11/08/19 06:07 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,935
G
GregC Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
G
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,935
Originally Posted by AnotherScott
Originally Posted by GregC
If it wasn't for the new Fantom, MODX 8 would be a no brainer.

Have you looked at the Kurzweil PC4? Tough competition for the MODX8, I think. Fantom is beyond my gig-weight limit, besides being in a different price range. But I do think it has the best control surface of the three.


we are cross posting on the Korg forum. The PC4 is on my radar.

Heck, if its great for my studio work , and if the LCD allows good navigation, at $2k, I will jump on it.

I don't care about an extra 5 pounds or a few inches more here and there. I don't gig.
No limit on those ' logistics '.

Thanks !

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: zephonic] #3015335 11/08/19 06:09 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,935
G
GregC Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
G
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,935
Originally Posted by zephonic
Yes, never thought I’d say this but I’m looking forward to making tracks on the Fantom rather than in Cubase. I’ve concluded that my grooviest tracks were all started outside of the DAW. Something about Cubase just ain’t swinging.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BRaM3kWpw4w&feature=youtu.be

suggest you check this out ! I am a ' section ' song writer, using Mr Corrells terminology

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: EscapeRocks] #3015340 11/08/19 06:42 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,210
zephonic Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,210
Originally Posted by EscapeRocks
Originally Posted by GregC
I lucked out at a local GC. They had MODX 88 and a Fantom 88 next to each other.

I still like MODX for sure. It was inspiring in many ways.

for my music production, Fantom screams tomorrow and IMO sound programming is a higher level.


Hey Greg, are the keys on the MODX8 similar to the older MOXF8? I can't find a place to try the MODX8. I am thinking about moving from my MODX6 to the MODX8. I know the description says they're both the GHS... just wondering if there's any difference in feel in the newer (MODX8) board.


AFAICT, when the boards are powered off they feel the same. But the velocity response of the new piano and rhodes samples on the MODX is better.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: zephonic] #3015348 11/08/19 08:39 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,409
EscapeRocks Online Content
MP Hall of Fame Member
Online Content
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,409
Originally Posted by zephonic
Originally Posted by EscapeRocks
Originally Posted by GregC
I lucked out at a local GC. They had MODX 88 and a Fantom 88 next to each other.

I still like MODX for sure. It was inspiring in many ways.

for my music production, Fantom screams tomorrow and IMO sound programming is a higher level.


Hey Greg, are the keys on the MODX8 similar to the older MOXF8? I can't find a place to try the MODX8. I am thinking about moving from my MODX6 to the MODX8. I know the description says they're both the GHS... just wondering if there's any difference in feel in the newer (MODX8) board.


AFAICT, when the boards are powered off they feel the same. But the velocity response of the new piano and rhodes samples on the MODX is better.


Thanks guys. I had an MOXF8 for a little while, and really didn't like the keys....hence my move to the PX5S.

The Fantom 6 is still heavily on my radar for many reasons. I may just go with that, with the PX5S underneath. Too many choices now that I've saved my pennies from gigs this year.


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-S3000 | Arturia Keylab 61 | Mac Mini |

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: EscapeRocks] #3015358 11/09/19 12:01 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,935
G
GregC Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
G
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,935
Originally Posted by EscapeRocks
[quote. Too many choices now that I've saved my pennies from gigs this year.




did I hear Save Your Pennies ? grin

https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994/save-your-pennies

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3015531 11/11/19 01:29 AM
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 70
E
echo66 Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
E
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 70
Although I've been trashing the new Fantom, I have ordered a Fantom 8 which I'll have in the next week or so. I'll report back.

As for the MODX, I felt the action is bad.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3015719 11/12/19 02:52 AM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 457
A
aellison62 Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
A
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 457
Was just watching “The Voice” and it looks like Paul Mirkovich got a new Fantom 8 ? I know he had the G8 for many years.


Kurzweil Forte 7, Mojo 61, Kurzweil PC361,
Kronos X61, Casio PX5S
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3017452 11/26/19 11:07 AM
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 70
E
echo66 Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
E
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 70
Just thought I'd give an update. Received bnib Fantom 8 about 9 days ago. Wouldn't always boot up properly. It is now bricked, won't boot up, white 'Roland' screen of death. Has been buggy since the start even after 1.1 upgrade. I have to send it back today. :-( I wouldn't recommend buying one at this point.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3017469 11/26/19 02:42 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,935
G
GregC Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
G
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,935
it hard to say if that defect is common or a modest %.

Nevertheless , I am waiting for January NAMM. Even with the attractive Black Friday incentives

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: echo66] #3017473 11/26/19 03:26 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,964
allan_evett Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,964
Originally Posted by echo66
Just thought I'd give an update. Received bnib Fantom 8 about 9 days ago. Wouldn't always boot up properly. It is now bricked, won't boot up, white 'Roland' screen of death. Has been buggy since the start even after 1.1 upgrade. I have to send it back today. :-( I wouldn't recommend buying one at this point.


Sounds like a random issue; sometimes happens with electronic devices, especially new-to-market items. You might want to return it for a replacement, vs scrapping the idea altogether. In 2015 my Kurz Forte 7 did similar things at first. Though updates did help the unit, my dealer would have gladly replaced the instrument if necessary. Lots of good things happening with the Fantom, and much more to come..


"Someday, we will look back on these days and laugh. It may be a maniacal laugh from within the confines of our padded cells, but it will be a laugh nonetheless" - Mr. Boffo.







Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3017480 11/26/19 04:15 PM
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 70
E
echo66 Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
E
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 70
Thanks. Yeah I think I’ll get my $$ back for now and see if I’ll want one in 2020.

Despite knowing it is incomplete sound/feature-wise, I also found it very buggy/crashy when it was working. Judging by some posts on other boards, seems like my issue is not isolated.

My first thought is ‘Shame on you Roland’, although really it’s my own fault. The warning signs were there.

Nice keyboard/concept, but too early to the market IMO.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3017522 11/26/19 08:27 PM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 219
D
Devnor Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
D
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 219
Nah, you just need a board that works. My Fantom locked up once otherwise it's been wonderful just fantastic. I wrote a tone, then when I pressed write then soft touched TONE to save the second tone the screen went black. Had to pull the plug and restart.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: Devnor] #3017794 11/29/19 01:39 AM
Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
M
Maestrophillips Offline
Member
Offline
Member
M
Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
Thanks Devnor.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3018217 12/03/19 12:39 AM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 77
U
uhoh7 Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
U
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 77
I quenched my fantom gas by pre-ordering a osmose.....


RT-3/U-121/SL-880/Nektar T4/Numa Cx2/Deepmind12
Leslie 21H and 760
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3018772 12/07/19 06:05 PM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 217
P
PianoManChuck Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
P
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 217
Here's a look at the Roland Fantom from a Pianist Perspective:

Link: Roland Fantom from a Pianist Perspective


PianoManChuck
Authorized reseller: Casio, Dexibell, Kurzweil, Nord, iLoud, PreSonus
Keyboard Reviews +
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3018946 12/09/19 07:29 PM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 101
D
Dave Keys Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
D
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 101
I am a lifelong Roland fan. From my Jupiters/Junos/JX's, to my D50, U20/XP10/XP50 then the RD700NX. This Fantom looks great, but, and I might be being unfair here, this synth sounds so, well....ordinary. But I'm guessing the price tag isn't ordinary, right?
Tell me why I'm wrong...


Roland RD700NX
Nord Electro 5HP
Korg Kronos2 61
Roland Jupiter 8
Roland JX3P
Roland D50
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: Dave Keys] #3018949 12/09/19 07:45 PM
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 43
X
xp50player Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
X
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 43
Right now the sounds ARE mostly ordinary, but the specs, keybed and interface aren’t. The polyphony is high & 256, with 16 Stereo USB. You have the TR-REC programming interface and competitive display & control surface. The Step LFO makes for some interesting sounds.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: Dave Keys] #3018967 12/09/19 10:06 PM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,031
B
bennyray Offline
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
B
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,031
Originally Posted by Dave Keys
I am a lifelong Roland fan. From my Jupiters/Junos/JX's, to my D50, U20/XP10/XP50 then the RD700NX. This Fantom looks great, but, and I might be being unfair here, this synth sounds so, well....ordinary. But I'm guessing the price tag isn't ordinary, right?
Tell me why I'm wrong...



That is the reason I haven't purchased the Fantom hoping for updates sounds!

Last edited by bennyray; 12/09/19 10:07 PM.
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3018971 12/09/19 10:55 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 316
Fleer Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 316
Don’t pass on that analog filter.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: PianoManChuck] #3018975 12/09/19 11:49 PM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,567
David Emm Offline
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,567
Originally Posted by PianoManChuck
Here's a look at the Roland Fantom from a Pianist Perspective:

Link: Roland Fantom from a Pianist Perspective


Thank you, Chuck, excellent review. I began on piano, so my synth world is always filtered through that perspective. I know online demos often have a lack similar to that of MP3 compression, but the main body of these pianos seems very nuanced and full. I've had my share of Rolands, so I can tell where the line is between the V-Pianos and the rest, but its a thin one when the sound is that good. I do find some lack in the release elements on the demo, so its natural to say 'Yeah, but can it compare with Pianoteq or Ivory?' You can program in the better tails, but of course, we all want that more detailed, natural decay. That aspect is TBD, but its clear that the piano is a strong selling point.


"After today, I'll bet Santa takes a shovel to the reindeer stalls to fill your stocking." ~ "Calvin and Hobbes"
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: bennyray] #3018978 12/10/19 12:15 AM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,567
David Emm Offline
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,567
Originally Posted by bennyray
Originally Posted by Dave Keys
I am a lifelong Roland fan. From my Jupiters/Junos/JX's, to my D50, U20/XP10/XP50 then the RD700NX. This Fantom looks great, but, and I might be being unfair here, this synth sounds so, well....ordinary. But I'm guessing the price tag isn't ordinary, right? Tell me why I'm wrong...


That is the reason I haven't purchased the Fantom hoping for updates sounds!


Perhaps you're confusing "ordinary" with "super-flashy." We're spoiled by ear-popping presets from Mars in bank A of most instruments, but many of those one-finger event patches or spectrum-fillling wow-leads make a quick exit in the real world. You have to massage it into being the synth you want to some extent. I understand the point, but despite its wild presets and immense flexibility, the V-Synth came and went pretty quickly. Its very playable in real-time and a seeming natural DJ fave, but it was near $3K and took some study to apply, so POOF. People want instant gratification, so Roland stays afloat in part by catering to the vintage craze. If people wanted a bold new Roland, the market would say so.

There's also the fact that only so many very serious people will be buying a costly new Fantom because its an Everything synth, so there will be far fewer outside patch sets for it. That energy is going towards the Korg 'logue line. At least in my case, buying a workstation was a clarion call to program several patch sets for my own purposes and to learn what its perform-ability was like under the hood. If you're not up for that, then you more likely need a Prophet, a new VST or two and a Nord for the other hand. Whether its a central workstation environment or a stack, it still takes 4 layers of synthesis to get to show time. smirk whistle


"After today, I'll bet Santa takes a shovel to the reindeer stalls to fill your stocking." ~ "Calvin and Hobbes"
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: David Emm] #3018981 12/10/19 12:57 AM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 217
P
PianoManChuck Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
P
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 217
I think you nailed it with your very astute observations Dave!!

There's another aspect to the new Fantom with their TR-REC functionality. Not limited to Drums & Bass like most people think.... you can use just about anything with it! And not monophonic either, you can actually use chords with it too. I demonstrate that here.


PianoManChuck
Authorized reseller: Casio, Dexibell, Kurzweil, Nord, iLoud, PreSonus
Keyboard Reviews +
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: David Emm] #3019020 12/10/19 12:33 PM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,031
B
bennyray Offline
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
B
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,031
Originally Posted by David Emm
Originally Posted by bennyray
Originally Posted by Dave Keys
I am a lifelong Roland fan. From my Jupiters/Junos/JX's, to my D50, U20/XP10/XP50 then the RD700NX. This Fantom looks great, but, and I might be being unfair here, this synth sounds so, well....ordinary. But I'm guessing the price tag isn't ordinary, right? Tell me why I'm wrong...


That is the reason I haven't purchased the Fantom hoping for updates sounds!


Perhaps you're confusing "ordinary" with "super-flashy." We're spoiled by ear-popping presets from Mars in bank A of most instruments, but many of those one-finger event patches or spectrum-fillling wow-leads make a quick exit in the real world. You have to massage it into being the synth you want to some extent. I understand the point, but despite its wild presets and immense flexibility, the V-Synth came and went pretty quickly. Its very playable in real-time and a seeming natural DJ fave, but it was near $3K and took some study to apply, so POOF. People want instant gratification, so Roland stays afloat in part by catering to the vintage craze. If people wanted a bold new Roland, the market would say so.

There's also the fact that only so many very serious people will be buying a costly new Fantom because its an Everything synth, so there will be far fewer outside patch sets for it. That energy is going towards the Korg 'logue line. At least in my case, buying a workstation was a clarion call to program several patch sets for my own purposes and to learn what its perform-ability was like under the hood. If you're not up for that, then you more likely need a Prophet, a new VST or two and a Nord for the other hand. Whether its a central workstation environment or a stack, it still takes 4 layers of synthesis to get to show time. smirk whistle


Agree with everything but I have owned 2 Kronos and very aware of the layout of the Fantom in fact I played one about 5 months ago when they first came out. Great keyboard! Most likely get one in a few months

Page 12 of 13 1 2 10 11 12 13

Moderated by  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3