Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Best expression pedal?

Hoping this is the best forum for this question.

I am a guitarist, I have a Boss Katana amp and an expression pedal can be used to control volume, wah, modulation speed, etc.

My criteria are Durability and a Smooth Sweep.

It has been my experience that Roland/Boss make bulletproof goodies for the most part.

I am pretty sure keyboardists use more expression pedals than most guitarists do, so I posted here, hoping for perspective. All viewpoints are welcome.

Just seeing what everybody thinks, thanks in advance!!!!!

It took a chunk of my life to get here and I am still not sure where "here" is.

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Broad consensus is that the Yamaha FC7 is a great pedal, but that's from the point of view of keyboard players using it as a Hammond/clonewheel expression pedal. I don't know if it will work with your Boss amp - Boss is a Roland brand and Roland use a different standard for their expression pedals.

One thing to watch is that most keyboard-focused expression pedals are intended for sit-down use. One nice thing about the FC7 is that it can be adjusted for either sitting or standing.

Cheers, Mike.

Broad consensus is that the Yamaha FC7 is a great pedal, but that's from the point of view of keyboard players using it as a Hammond/clonewheel expression pedal. I don't know if it will work with your Boss amp - Boss is a Roland brand and Roland use a different standard for their expression pedals.

One thing to watch is that most keyboard-focused expression pedals are intended for sit-down use. One nice thing about the FC7 is that it can be adjusted for either sitting or standing.

Cheers, Mike.

Thanks stoken6, I'll take a look at it. Yamaha is a trusted company in my experience also, they make reliable gear.