Music Player Network

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Is there a module version of the JD-Xi ? #3013308 10/22/19 03:37 PM
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,132
J
Jr. Deluxe Offline OP
Has been warned....
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
Has been warned....
MP Hall of Fame Member
J
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,132
I got plenty of full sized keys controllers and don't need the micro keys or even vocoder. The rest looks highly useful. Could use longer sequences though.

KC Island
Re: Is there a module version of the JD-Xi ? [Re: Jr. Deluxe] #3013324 10/22/19 05:06 PM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,036
konaboy Offline
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,036
nope, think of this as a desktop module with built-in minikeys.
you can half the tempo and double the resolution to get double the pattern length.


hang out with me at woody piano shack
Re: Is there a module version of the JD-Xi ? [Re: Jr. Deluxe] #3014212 10/30/19 04:50 AM
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,132
J
Jr. Deluxe Offline OP
Has been warned....
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
Has been warned....
MP Hall of Fame Member
J
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,132
Thread recycle. I'm so woke. Anyways I'm looking for a yootube video on running the JD-Xi via external midi controller. ie can I run the 2 digital synths at the same time from different controllers?

Re: Is there a module version of the JD-Xi ? [Re: Jr. Deluxe] #3014249 10/30/19 04:38 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 598
bourniplus Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 598
According to my owner's manual, I guess you can't. It says the MIDI channel is set for the whole program. (That's how they call each combination of 2 digital parts + analog + drums.)
I remember seeing somewhere online a list of all the MIDI messages in details so maybe there's a workaround.


"Show me all the blueprints. I'm serious now, show me all the blueprints."
My homemade instruments
Re: Is there a module version of the JD-Xi ? [Re: Jr. Deluxe] #3014256 10/30/19 05:14 PM
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,132
J
Jr. Deluxe Offline OP
Has been warned....
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
Has been warned....
MP Hall of Fame Member
J
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,132
In the troubleshooting table it lists :
Digital synth 1, midi channel 1
Digital synth 2, midi ch 2
Drum machine, midi ch 10
Analog synth, midi ch 3
Machine number 17

So it seems like there could be a way. Power is out here so I can't try it.

Re: Is there a module version of the JD-Xi ? [Re: Jr. Deluxe] #3014262 10/30/19 05:48 PM
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 425
F
Franz Schiller Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
F
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 425
I have a JD-XI and YES indeed you CAN set each Part (Analog, Digital 1, Digital 2, Drum) to be controlled on a separate channel. I use a multi zone controller, but I bet dollars to donuts it can be run with multiple controllers.

I use an iPad app to program the JD-XI called Patch Base. You might be able to menu dive and get to it, but if so it's a pretty deep dive.

Re: Is there a module version of the JD-Xi ? [Re: Jr. Deluxe] #3014289 10/30/19 07:37 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 598
bourniplus Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 598
Great!


"Show me all the blueprints. I'm serious now, show me all the blueprints."
My homemade instruments
Re: Is there a module version of the JD-Xi ? [Re: Jr. Deluxe] #3014332 10/31/19 03:19 AM
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,132
J
Jr. Deluxe Offline OP
Has been warned....
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
Has been warned....
MP Hall of Fame Member
J
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,132
Can anybody recommend some good organ patches. Free or otherwise. They don't have to sound great. But at least not awful.

Re: Is there a module version of the JD-Xi ? [Re: Jr. Deluxe] #3014355 10/31/19 11:13 AM
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,132
J
Jr. Deluxe Offline OP
Has been warned....
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
Has been warned....
MP Hall of Fame Member
J
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,132
So. Current me answering earlier me. Yes , you can run at least 2 other controllers giving 3 keyboards playing 3 different sounds at once. The 2 digital and the analog. I've done 2 at once but not having 3 hands I didn't actually play all 3 boards at the exact same time but early indications are that it all works. I used a midi plus USB host. This little roland is actually an amazing hub of a 3 board setup. I wouldn't call it roadtuff but I ain't either these days.


Moderated by  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3