Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Sensational Benmont Interview

I'm not familiar with this show, and I don't think it's been mentioned here, but this interview with Benmont is really fantastic. Long! Almost and hour and a half. Covers gear, music, stories......amazing. It was done this summer before the final tour. The guy is so cool.....

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Being about the same age I have found I have a lot in common with Benmont. I started playing out actively in 1968 (also with older folks in an established band after they all returned from Woodstock). I had been in bands though since the 3rd grade with school mates 1963-64 1st on Trumpet then accordion then organ/piano. I went through the same combo organ phase pretty much and also learned the whole solo to Light My Fire in 1967-68 for Teen Club dances and battle of the bands! He really pretty much captures the vibe of those times keyboard player wise. Thank god someone is there to tell the stories like he does, he's very articulate about it also! :2thu:

CP-50, YC 73,  FP-80, PX5-S, NE-5d61, Kurzweil SP6, XK-3, CX-3, Hammond XK-3, Yamaha YUX Upright, '66 B3/Leslie 145/122

I also played Light My Fire at teen clubs. In 1967 a girl in my class excitedly exclaims "Barry can play the long version."

In 2007, my niece (great vocalist) hears me on my parent's home Wurlitzer. She excitedly exclaims "Barry can play the long version."

The more things change...

Barry

Home: Steinway L, Montage 8

Gigs: Yamaha CP88, Crumar Mojo 61, A&H SQ5 mixer, ME1 IEM, MiPro 909 IEMs

I also played Light My Fire at teen clubs. In 1967 a girl in my class excitedly exclaims "Barry can play the long version."

In 2007, my niece (great vocalist) hears me on my parent's home Wurlitzer. She excitedly exclaims "Barry can play the long version."

The more things change...