Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Regrets?

Delta

We all have regrets in our lives. It's part of being human. My great regret in guitar playing is that I didn't play for 15 of my prime years. I started playing at 12 years old. I had an old beat up Harmony acoustic that my Dad got from a friend for free. I then graduated to one of those cheap Japanese Harmony guitar/amp kits. I took lessons and played on a regular basis for 5 years. I even fronted a high school rock band. When I was 17 our family made a major move to a much larger town and high school. I had a tough time adapting and I stopped playing guitar for various reasons for 15 years. At 32 years old, after the birth of my son, I started playing again, and have been ever since. I'm now composing and recording my own material and collaborating with other artists. Anybody else out there that have gone through a similar experience?
"Let me stand next to your fire!", Jimi Hendrix

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Kind of the same kind of experience...I mentioned on another thread that I had taken about 3 months of guitar lessons back in '79. I moved to another city and had to give up my friend and teacher due to the distance involved. He was a pro and played mostly old jazz/pop standards. He managed to teach me the word improvisation. I've been on a journey teaching myself ever since and have always appreciated what I was introduced to.