Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Speaking of Manuals

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

As a fellow manual writer, I think Mike will back me up on this:

If you document a good operating system, people will say you wrote a good manual

If you document a crappy operating system, people will say you wrote a crappy manual

There was one manufacturer years ago who made good products, but their manuals (printed, included in the box - this was pre-net) really sucked. As I was looking for manual gigs, I pitched them on doing their manuals. The marketing guy got a really confused look on this face - "Why? By the time the get to the manual, they've already bought the unit."

One of my beefs with Logic Pro 10 is that Apple does not provide the PDF manual. You have to access the manual online, and I prefer to keep my music computer offline.

You can download all the Logic manuals in iBooks. I like that even better than a PDF because it's easier and more flexible, especially on my iPad. They also get updates so I'm always current with the latest version of the software.

"I'm so crazy, I don't know this is impossible! Hoo hoo!" - Daffy Duck

"The good news is that once you start piano you never have to worry about getting laid again. More time to practice!" - MOI

If you document a good operating system, people will say you wrote a good manual

If you document a crappy operating system, people will say you wrote a crappy manual

That sounds reasonable to me. ;)