Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Product advice: IEMs without an "over-the-ear" wire

I have been using a set of Shure E3 earbuds for my IEMs for many years now. I recently bought a set of Mee M6 as recommended on this forum, and while I'm happy with the sound and the fit, I find the wire-over-the-ear thing to be fiddly to fit. My Shure E3s simply push in to the ear canal, and the cables hang free from there. The obvious replacement for the E3s is the SE215/315, but they have an over-ear wire also. Similarly, Westone, most of Sennheiser's range, JHAudio (although out of my price range), etc.

Can anyone on the forum suggest a non-over-ear IEM set, comparable to Shure SE215/315 in price and quality? Apart from Etymotic, it seems this style is reserved for entry-level phones: Shure SE112, Sennheiser IE4 ...

Cheers, Mike.

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Mike,

I can't recommend a quality IEM that doesn't do "over the ear". So I suppose you can discount the rest of this...

...but I believe there are good reasons for over the ear, despite the fitting challenges you're running into. With all headphones (including big fat over the ear) the typical point of failure is the connection of wire to headphone. It's the specific point of most flex over time, most movement, and most of us have several sets of earbuds, IEMs and headphones rendered useless by a broken wire connection.

This is why many (most?) expensive cans use some sort of disconnect mechanism to enable replacement of wire (thus saving a very expensive and unnecessary replacement of the still-functioning components...or perhaps upgrading the wire with third-party audiophile stuff).

Over the ear attempts to stabilize the junction point of flexion, I think.