Music Player Network

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 31 of 32 1 2 29 30 31 32
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: Keepitsimple] #3000273 07/25/19 06:56 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,703
1
16251 Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
1
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,703
Originally Posted by Keepitsimple
https://www.casio-intl.com/asia/en/news/2019/0719_px-s1000rd/

Wow they listened to me (?). I sent this as a request to Mike Martin to be passed along. I also messaged them on instagram requesting this. I'm guessing there are other people who requested this as well.

Looks stunning.


But how will I do wedding ceremonies?


AG N2 | PX S3000 | REFACE CP | GK MK & MP amps
KC Island
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: 16251] #3000274 07/25/19 07:03 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,189
Mike Martin Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,189
Originally Posted by 16251


But how will I do wedding ceremonies?


With the white one:

Attached Files
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: Jazz+] #3000276 07/25/19 07:08 PM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 7,350
ElmerJFudd Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 7,350
To each their own. No interest in the red model at all.
Soon Nord will have to change colors or offer their keyboards for less than $800. wink


Live: Casio PX-560, Roland VR-700
Home: Rebuilt 1910 Chickering 5'2", Fender Rhodes MKI 88k, Yamaha S90ES
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: 16251] #3000303 07/25/19 10:26 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 20,726
Joe Muscara Offline
Triple Secret Banninated
20k Club
Offline
Triple Secret Banninated
20k Club
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 20,726
Originally Posted by 16251
Originally Posted by Keepitsimple
https://www.casio-intl.com/asia/en/news/2019/0719_px-s1000rd/

Wow they listened to me (?). I sent this as a request to Mike Martin to be passed along. I also messaged them on instagram requesting this. I'm guessing there are other people who requested this as well.

Looks stunning.


But how will I do wedding ceremonies?

lolol


The great thing about music is that there's always something to learn. The frustrating thing about music is that there's always something to learn!
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: ajstan] #3000328 07/26/19 02:24 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,364
M
miden Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
M
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,364
Originally Posted by ajstan
Hi All - great info on this thread. I've been through all 30 pages and I didn't see this specific question asked, so my apologies if I missed it.

I am looking at using the S3000 as a backup to my Nord Stage 3, either stand-alone or with Mainstage. However, there may be an occasion where I would want to MIDI the two boards together.

I saw the posts regarding external, powered boxes that convert the 5-pin DIN to USB, but wanted to know if anyone tried using a USB-B male to USB-B male cable like this one:
USB-B Male to USB-B Male Cable

For those of you that understand how USB/MIDI works on these two boards, is trying this cable: a) worth a shot, b) likely a waste of time, or c) potentially damaging to one or both boards? Thanks.


Try this https://www.kentonuk.com/products/items/utilities/usb-host.shtml


The trouble with doing the job correctly first time, is no-one will ever know just how difficult it was.
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: miden] #3000333 07/26/19 03:10 AM
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 99
ajstan Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 99
Originally Posted by miden
Originally Posted by ajstan
Hi All - great info on this thread. I've been through all 30 pages and I didn't see this specific question asked, so my apologies if I missed it.

I am looking at using the S3000 as a backup to my Nord Stage 3, either stand-alone or with Mainstage. However, there may be an occasion where I would want to MIDI the two boards together.

I saw the posts regarding external, powered boxes that convert the 5-pin DIN to USB, but wanted to know if anyone tried using a USB-B male to USB-B male cable like this one:
USB-B Male to USB-B Male Cable

For those of you that understand how USB/MIDI works on these two boards, is trying this cable: a) worth a shot, b) likely a waste of time, or c) potentially damaging to one or both boards? Thanks.


Try this https://www.kentonuk.com/products/items/utilities/usb-host.shtml

Thanks for the link @miden. That unit seems to get good reviews.

I found this device to work with the wireless USB MIDI dongle for my Alesis Vortex Wireless 2, and would give it a try if I pick up the S3000: midiplus USB Host


Nord Stage 3 88, Yamaha MODX7, Radial Key Largo, Westone AM Pro 30, Rolls PM55P, K&M 18880, Bose S1 Pro, JBL 305p MKII, Zoom Q2n-4K
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: Jazz+] #3001300 08/01/19 02:26 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,219
Steve Nathan Offline
MPN Advisory Board
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MPN Advisory Board
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,219
So it may be covered somewhere in these 37 pages, but........
I'm thrilled to have figured out how to fix the initial weirdness with all of the expression pedals I tried, and thx to Mike for putting a calibration feature in the menu. What I can't find is a way to switch the internal speakers off. Apparently I can stick a mini-plug in the headphone jack. Does it have to be an actual pair of headphones, or a specifically wired dummy jack (with say a resistor across the posts), or can I just stick any old 1/8th inch plug in there?
Thx as always.
Steve


"What's the point of living longer if you have to give up everything that makes life worth living to do so?"
Einstein (supposedly)

www.stevenathanmusic.com
https://www.musiciansforpensionsecurity.com/
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: Steve Nathan] #3001302 08/01/19 02:35 AM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,189
Mike Martin Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,189
Originally Posted by Steve Nathan
or can I just stick any old 1/8th inch plug in there?
Thx as always.
Steve


Just put something in there. smile

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: Jazz+] #3001305 08/01/19 02:39 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,219
Steve Nathan Offline
MPN Advisory Board
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MPN Advisory Board
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,219
That was faster than texting you laugh


"What's the point of living longer if you have to give up everything that makes life worth living to do so?"
Einstein (supposedly)

www.stevenathanmusic.com
https://www.musiciansforpensionsecurity.com/
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: Jazz+] #3001307 08/01/19 03:02 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,219
Steve Nathan Offline
MPN Advisory Board
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MPN Advisory Board
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,219
I love this action BTW! Played Ravenscroft and Hammersmith with it all afternoon cool
When I DL the APP and hook my iPhone in, any chance I'll find something like a "Category Search" for the 500 "OTHER" sounds?


"What's the point of living longer if you have to give up everything that makes life worth living to do so?"
Einstein (supposedly)

www.stevenathanmusic.com
https://www.musiciansforpensionsecurity.com/
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: Steve Nathan] #3001313 08/01/19 04:15 AM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,189
Mike Martin Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,189
Originally Posted by Steve Nathan
I love this action BTW! Played Ravenscroft and Hammersmith with it all afternoon cool
When I DL the APP and hook my iPhone in, any chance I'll find something like a "Category Search" for the 500 "OTHER" sounds?


Yes.
Also from the front panel, pressing any category button again will jump you to the next section.

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: Jazz+] #3001322 08/01/19 05:17 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,661
mate stubb Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,661
Any suggestions for getting my iPad to see the PX when I plug it in?


Moe
---
"FWIW, I believe all your shafts should be the same." - miden

http://www.hotrodmotm.com
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: mate stubb] #3001347 08/01/19 01:38 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,189
Mike Martin Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,189
Originally Posted by mate stubb
Any suggestions for getting my iPad to see the PX when I plug it in?


That is odd. It is class compliant. Never see it not just work with any Privia for the last 5+ except when a "Camera connection kit" was faulty.

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: Mike Martin] #3001367 08/01/19 03:11 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,661
mate stubb Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,661
Originally Posted by Mike Martin
Originally Posted by mate stubb
Any suggestions for getting my iPad to see the PX when I plug it in?


That is odd. It is class compliant. Never see it not just work with any Privia for the last 5+ except when a "Camera connection kit" was faulty.


I hooked it up via USB. Should I be using the DIN plug midi ports instead?


Moe
---
"FWIW, I believe all your shafts should be the same." - miden

http://www.hotrodmotm.com
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: mate stubb] #3001368 08/01/19 03:18 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,189
Mike Martin Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,189
Originally Posted by mate stubb
Originally Posted by Mike Martin
Originally Posted by mate stubb
Any suggestions for getting my iPad to see the PX when I plug it in?


That is odd. It is class compliant. Never see it not just work with any Privia for the last 5+ except when a "Camera connection kit" was faulty.


I hooked it up via USB. Should I be using the DIN plug midi ports instead?


What product are we talking about because the PX-S series doesn't have DIN MIDI ports? You are using an Apple Camera connection kit?

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: Jazz+] #3004132 08/20/19 04:23 AM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,703
1
16251 Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
1
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,703
Casio advertised that the S3000 knobs were programmable and I guess they are sort of are - NOT. 14 pre-set configurations they we have to fit into our programming. Someone please explain these to me if you could. For example, I wanted to change the blending of a layered sound, which is in the config but who decided the second knob should be fine tuning. What the heck would I use this combo? I think the contributors here could of come up with 14 much better configs that we can actually use. Before I bought the keyboard I was thinking using the knobs for (1) control volume of two layers and set (2) to alter a Stereo Pan for electric piano.

Don't get me wrong for the price and its many positives I'm really enjoying this keyboard.

IMPORTANT QUESTION: If I mess around with the knobs pre-sets while setting up a patch is there anyway to abort and start again without turning off board. Having that fail safe would really allow for exploration while programming. I understand a piano at this price point can't be everything to everyone but my opinions seem to me to be logical programming ideals.


AG N2 | PX S3000 | REFACE CP | GK MK & MP amps
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: 16251] #3004136 08/20/19 05:45 AM
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 48
OmniaAequalis Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 48
Originally Posted by 16251
Casio advertised that the S3000 knobs were programmable and I guess they are sort of are - NOT. 14 pre-set configurations they we have to fit into our programming.


Casio's main webpage about the S3000 and several reviewers stated that the knobs are ASSIGNABLE. That's not the same as programmable. It does suck though.


Trumpet player by trade, but fell in love with keys too.
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: Jazz+] #3007278 09/09/19 03:32 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,342
EscapeRocks Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,342
Okay, reading thru all the pages and posts, my eyes are tired and I may have missed this:

Am I correct in that the new S3000 does NOT have DIN MIDI, even if just a DIN MIDI out?


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Yamaha MODX6 |

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: Jazz+] #3007280 09/09/19 03:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,677
Toano88 Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,677
Correct, it has a 6 pin Din for the pedal unit. But from the pictures on the internet no others. Sweetewater specs don't indicate any midi other than USB.


Boards: Kurzweil SP-6, Roland FA-08, VR-09, DeepMind 12
Modules: Korg Radias, Roland D-05, Bk7-m & Sonic Cell
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: EscapeRocks] #3007281 09/09/19 03:45 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,661
mate stubb Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,661
Originally Posted by EscapeRocks
Okay, reading thru all the pages and posts, my eyes are tired and I may have missed this:

Am I correct in that the new S3000 does NOT have DIN MIDI, even if just a DIN MIDI out?


Yes, no DIN jacks.


Moe
---
"FWIW, I believe all your shafts should be the same." - miden

http://www.hotrodmotm.com
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: mate stubb] #3007284 09/09/19 03:58 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,342
EscapeRocks Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,342
Originally Posted by Toano88
Correct, it has a 6 pin Din for the pedal unit. But from the pictures on the internet no others. Sweetewater specs don't indicate any midi other than USB.

Originally Posted by mate stubb
Originally Posted by EscapeRocks
Okay, reading thru all the pages and posts, my eyes are tired and I may have missed this:

Am I correct in that the new S3000 does NOT have DIN MIDI, even if just a DIN MIDI out?


Yes, no DIN jacks.



Well that's too bad. If, and when a PX5S successor comes out they better leave the MIDI DIN jacks there.


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Yamaha MODX6 |

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: EscapeRocks] #3007312 09/09/19 06:16 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 20,726
Joe Muscara Offline
Triple Secret Banninated
20k Club
Offline
Triple Secret Banninated
20k Club
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 20,726
Originally Posted by EscapeRocks
If, and when a PX5S successor comes out they better leave the MIDI DIN jacks there.

That, and a lot of other features we want to see in the successor! boing


The great thing about music is that there's always something to learn. The frustrating thing about music is that there's always something to learn!
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: Jazz+] #3007639 09/11/19 07:54 PM
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
G
GuiliClayder Offline
Member
Offline
Member
G
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
I have a Kawai MP11SE which is a joy to play on, but it's not really portable. I'm thinking of doing some small gigs from time to time (if you can call it gigs, more like small intimate venues).
A Casio PX-S1000 or 3000 would fit the bill perfectly for that. I've tried out a PX-S1000 and I was really impressed with the keybed ; it's no Kawai MP11SE, but it's really good considering the price.
I also have a Korg Kross 2 88, but that keybed is not really all that great for piano playing, plus I would need to lug around an amp or speakers every time, which I'd rather avoid.
Not sure yet whether to buy the 1000 or the 3000 yet, since I don't really need all those arranger functions and synth sounds, but on the other hand, even the number of pianos and EPs is really disappointing on the 1000.

Anyway, I do have a question : in the manual of both the PX-S1000 and 3000, it says that you cannot connect an iPad via USB and use the audio in on the Casio at the same time.
Normally, that's what I would do in order to hear the sound of the iPad through the speakers of the keyboard, whether it's sound coming from the Chordana app or a DAW like Garageband, or whatever. I think that's how you do it on Casio's previous models.
But if there's a warning in the manual saying that you shouldn't, then I assume the USB connection will transmit the MIDI data, and I should be able to hear the iPad via Bluetooth streaming ?

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: Jazz+] #3007645 09/11/19 08:20 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,189
Mike Martin Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,189
You CAN use your iPad and USB MIDI at the same time. The manual is being cautious because as many people experience (with multiple brands) this could introduce a ground loop, causing some hum and noise. No reason you can't give it a try.

Last edited by Mike Martin; 09/11/19 08:20 PM.
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: Joe Muscara] #3007653 09/11/19 08:39 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,342
EscapeRocks Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,342
Originally Posted by Joe Muscara
Originally Posted by EscapeRocks
If, and when a PX5S successor comes out they better leave the MIDI DIN jacks there.

That, and a lot of other features we want to see in the successor! boing


I'd be first in line for a PX5S successor with just the expression pedal input, DIN MIDI and USB MIDI, AND the ability to send MIDI on all 16 channels at once, like most workstations can. Can keep the same number of sliders and knobs. I'm okay with no touch screen. smile smile


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Yamaha MODX6 |

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: EscapeRocks] #3007655 09/11/19 08:42 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,661
mate stubb Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,661
Originally Posted by EscapeRocks


I'd be first in line for a PX5S successor with just the expression pedal input, DIN MIDI and USB MIDI, AND the ability to send MIDI on all 16 channels at once, like most workstations can. Can keep the same number of sliders and knobs. I'm okay with no touch screen. smile smile


AND the new action.


Moe
---
"FWIW, I believe all your shafts should be the same." - miden

http://www.hotrodmotm.com
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: mate stubb] #3007658 09/11/19 08:47 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,342
EscapeRocks Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,342
Originally Posted by mate stubb
Originally Posted by EscapeRocks


I'd be first in line for a PX5S successor with just the expression pedal input, DIN MIDI and USB MIDI, AND the ability to send MIDI on all 16 channels at once, like most workstations can. Can keep the same number of sliders and knobs. I'm okay with no touch screen. smile smile


AND the new action.


Well yeah, that!


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Yamaha MODX6 |

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: Mike Martin] #3007661 09/11/19 08:54 PM
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
G
GuiliClayder Offline
Member
Offline
Member
G
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Originally Posted by Mike Martin
You CAN use your iPad and USB MIDI at the same time. The manual is being cautious because as many people experience (with multiple brands) this could introduce a ground loop, causing some hum and noise. No reason you can't give it a try.


Oh, ok, then. Just wouldn't want to short out anything. After all, if it's in the manual and you ignore it, you've got nothing to argue about in case something does go wrong wink

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: Jazz+] #3008875 09/20/19 04:17 PM
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 268
C
Charleston Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
C
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 268
On the 3000, how do you control the volume of the layers on the fly?

Can it be done with the knobs? If expression pedal (on part 2), then does that have to be setup per registration?


NI, Arturia, Ableton, Waves, Casio VL-1/MT-500, Yamaha KX5, Roland Juno 106/D50/XP80/P-55/A-49, Korg M1/WavestationSR/Microstation/Microkey, Peavey C8, SK1, QS6, Yamaha G2 grand
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($600) and S3000 ($800) [Re: Charleston] #3008900 09/20/19 06:33 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,189
Mike Martin Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,189
Originally Posted by Charleston
On the 3000, how do you control the volume of the layers on the fly?

Can it be done with the knobs? If expression pedal (on part 2), then does that have to be setup per registration?


Knobs can be set to "Layer Balance" which allows you to crossfade between two parts (Upper1, Upper2). The Assignable Expression Pedal can also be set as "Expression" and set to just control Upper2 so you can bring the layered sound in and out as needed. This is per registration. We covered this in the video this week:



Last edited by Mike Martin; 09/20/19 06:41 PM.
Page 31 of 32 1 2 29 30 31 32

Moderated by  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3