Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Intro to I Wish You Love - Skatalites Version

Hi Guys

Sorry for the low-IQ post about to follow, but I am looking for tips on how to play this cool intro to the Skatalites version of "I Wish You Love"

[video:youtube]

(I'm talking about the piano background in the first ~42 seconds).

From what I can gather (based by listening and stealing chords from iRealPro on my iPad) the chords are a "walk-down" as follows:

| Bb- | Bb -7/A | C half-dim 7 /Ab | F7 b13 |

Does this sound approximately correct to you smart fellers out there?

I'm also trying to figure out how to approximate some of the "classical" (i.e. fancy man 2-bit) flourishes in there - lots of octaves/inversions? Lots of sustain pedaling, tux-tail flipping? (I keep visualizing how Victor Borge would play it, which is fun but not really helping).

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Disclaimer - I'm pretty much a self taught guitar-turned-keyboard player that knows (and is still learning) some jazz theory, but this is definitely a step above my normal comfort and/or competency level.

Thanks,

roy

• Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

At a very quick listen, I hear:

Bbm | Bbm (maj7)/A | Ab6/9 | Eb7/G

Gbmaj7 | % | F7 | F7

A lot like My Funny Valentine, and other tunes that undergird a repetitive melodic motif with with the "gee I really love you" chromatic descending bass line (nothing says I love you like a chromatic descending bass line). Essentially, it's hanging on to that Bbm triad while the bass line tells its sad tale of woe. There are lots of possibilities for upper extensions and such if you want to theory geek out, but setting up the song doesn't require it.

That being said, your question is tips to play this more like the vid you posted.