Music Player Network

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
XLR A/B switch (for Vocoder) #3007237 09/09/19 05:52 AM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 13,419
J. Dan Offline OP
Bannination Free Since '08
10k Club
OP Offline
Bannination Free Since '08
10k Club
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 13,419
I found an old thread where it was discussed, regarding vocoders, but didn't see any suggestions. There were some suggestions and links for splitters, but that won't work for me. When I do the vocoder, I need my vocal to FOH to be muted, so I need a true A/B switch - A = vocal to FOH, B = vocal to Kronos Input 1 via XLR to 1/4" TRS.

I googled and there are a number of them out there, but they start at $45 and go up from there. I checked Parts Express for a DPDT footswitch, 2 female and 1 male XLR panel jacks, and a small aluminum box and it came up to about $16-$17. I figured all the shields could be tied together and grounded to the box, and the +/- could be switched from the input to the 2 outputs. Maybe "just in case", I'll add a SPST switch on the shield going to the Kronos in case a ground loop were to develop between the Kronos and the FOH board when I switched to Vocoder.

This week I'll actually be in Springboro, OH (well, passing through) where Parts Express is located and they have counter sales, so I wouldn't even need to pay shipping, just local sales tax.

Any thoughts?

Note: In the thread I ran into, back then, my solution was to just run the mic right into the Kronos, then out Aux 1 for my vocal channel. Default global audio setup automatically sent input 1 to Aux 1, and if needed, the patch would override it and send it to the vocoder IFX block. That was fine back then when it was a duo and I was doing my own sound. But now playing in different bands, I've changed my default settings and don't want to go back and redo all of the audio routings for all of my songs (I run another keyboard into input 1 now), plus I don't like the idea of my Kronos being in the signal path of my mic going to FOH for the kinds of gigs I'm doing.


Dan

Acoustic/Electric stringed instruments ranging from 4 to 230 strings, hammered, picked, fingered, slapped, and plucked. Analog and Digital Electronic instruments, reeds, and throat/mouth.
KC Island
Re: XLR A/B switch (for Vocoder) [Re: J. Dan] #3007248 09/09/19 11:31 AM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 667
B
BbAltered Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
B
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 667
The easiest thing to do is to have two mics: one for "normal" vocals, one for vocorded vocals.


J.S. Bach Well Tempered Klavier
The collected works of Scott Joplin
Ray Charles Genius plus Soul
Charlie Parker Omnibook
Stevie Wonder Songs in the Key of Life
Weather Report Mr. Gone
Re: XLR A/B switch (for Vocoder) [Re: J. Dan] #3007250 09/09/19 11:38 AM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 13,419
J. Dan Offline OP
Bannination Free Since '08
10k Club
OP Offline
Bannination Free Since '08
10k Club
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 13,419
Not easiest in terms of setup live having to have 2 mics and 2 stands set up just so I can use it for one song.


Dan

Acoustic/Electric stringed instruments ranging from 4 to 230 strings, hammered, picked, fingered, slapped, and plucked. Analog and Digital Electronic instruments, reeds, and throat/mouth.
Re: XLR A/B switch (for Vocoder) [Re: J. Dan] #3007277 09/09/19 03:27 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,643
mate stubb Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,643
Only thing I would worry about is pops during switching.


Moe
---
"FWIW, I believe all your shafts should be the same." - miden

http://www.hotrodmotm.com
Re: XLR A/B switch (for Vocoder) [Re: J. Dan] #3007326 09/09/19 07:38 PM
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2,364
S
stoken6 Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
S
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2,364
Moe beat me to it. A simple mechanical switch risks clicks, pops and other unpleasant noises.

One idea I had: a little mixer with an "alt" switch to route the mic to an alternate output. But that would leave you sending your mic to foh as a line-level signal.

Cheers, Mike.


AX48.PM351.FC7.VFP2
One or two keyboards.
Re: XLR A/B switch (for Vocoder) [Re: J. Dan] #3007338 09/09/19 09:02 PM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 842
vonnor Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 842

Last edited by vonnor; 09/09/19 09:23 PM. Reason: Corrected link - apologies

Gear:
Hardware: Nord Stage 2 - 76, Korg Kronos 2
Software: Cantabile 3, Halion Sonic 3 and assorted VST plug-ins.
Re: XLR A/B switch (for Vocoder) [Re: J. Dan] #3007342 09/09/19 09:15 PM
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2,364
S
stoken6 Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
S
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2,364
Can't go wrong with Radial, but is that a momentary switch? I think Dan would need a latching switch if he's using vocoder for one song.

Back to the two mics idea, if you tape the two mics to each other, you can get away with one stand and easier setup. That's how they used to do FoH+foldback back in the day, rather than split the mic signal.

Cheers, Mike.


AX48.PM351.FC7.VFP2
One or two keyboards.
Re: XLR A/B switch (for Vocoder) [Re: J. Dan] #3007344 09/09/19 09:19 PM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,483
CEB Online Content
10k Club
Online Content
10k Club
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,483
I also use the Radial Hotshot XLR ABo


"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!
So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt
Re: XLR A/B switch (for Vocoder) [Re: J. Dan] #3007345 09/09/19 09:19 PM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 842
vonnor Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 842
It latch-toggles... at least the one I have does. That may be the wrong link. I'm at work at the moment but I can verify when I get home.

Last edited by vonnor; 09/09/19 09:22 PM.

Gear:
Hardware: Nord Stage 2 - 76, Korg Kronos 2
Software: Cantabile 3, Halion Sonic 3 and assorted VST plug-ins.
Re: XLR A/B switch (for Vocoder) [Re: J. Dan] #3007347 09/09/19 09:24 PM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,483
CEB Online Content
10k Club
Online Content
10k Club
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,483
Yes it does. It also has pad switches. Those accidentally getting flipped can be a problem .... that happened once but caught it in soundcheck after checking everything else first. I use XLR headsets so the switch also functions as a cough switch when not on a vocoder combi.

If you want a momentary switch I can see if switchcraft has something that is mechanical not relay based. Everyone is going to this soft touch relay stuff.

Last edited by CEB; 09/09/19 09:27 PM.

"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!
So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt
Re: XLR A/B switch (for Vocoder) [Re: J. Dan] #3007348 09/09/19 09:40 PM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,483
CEB Online Content
10k Club
Online Content
10k Club
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,483
PS. Not Switchcraft but I see DPDT and 3PDT momentary. I’d call Radial but it shouldn’t be hard to convert.

Last edited by CEB; 09/09/19 09:41 PM.

"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!
So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt
Re: XLR A/B switch (for Vocoder) [Re: J. Dan] #3007388 09/10/19 03:06 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,643
mate stubb Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,643
Radial is 1/4" I/O

Edit: never mind, found this XLR version: clonk

Last edited by mate stubb; 09/10/19 03:11 AM.

Moe
---
"FWIW, I believe all your shafts should be the same." - miden

http://www.hotrodmotm.com
Re: XLR A/B switch (for Vocoder) [Re: J. Dan] #3007417 09/10/19 10:20 AM
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2,364
S
stoken6 Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
S
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2,364
Is that Radial HotShotABI that Moe driven from a mechanical switch? I don't see a power supply input or battery compartment. If it's mechanical, it's as prone to clicks and pops as Dan's homemade idea, no?

Cheers, Mike.


AX48.PM351.FC7.VFP2
One or two keyboards.
Re: XLR A/B switch (for Vocoder) [Re: J. Dan] #3007422 09/10/19 11:52 AM
Joined: May 2018
Posts: 124
C
CountFosco Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
C
Joined: May 2018
Posts: 124
Not sure how important the vocoder capability of the Kronos is in this setup, but you could also consider something like the Electro Harmonix V256. Run your single mic through that, it has a bypass, and it can take a midi in from a controller. I use this setup to do what you're describing.

Re: XLR A/B switch (for Vocoder) [Re: J. Dan] #3007424 09/10/19 12:06 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,305
S
Stokely Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
S
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,305
Hmmm, I was getting ready to set up a second mic just for my vocoder, didn't even consider this option. Obviously I don't want to compromise vocal quality for basically fun, throwaway vocoder parts.... I'll be watching this thread.

Re: XLR A/B switch (for Vocoder) [Re: J. Dan] #3007454 09/10/19 04:55 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 91
LennyTunes Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 91
Maybe another solution could be to use a digital mixer that can store "scenes". Changing scenes (perhaps via midi) can switch the routing of the mic output. Something like an Behringer X Air might be overkill, but maybe MOTU Ultralite?


Lenny
Re: XLR A/B switch (for Vocoder) [Re: J. Dan] #3007502 09/10/19 08:58 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,305
S
Stokely Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
S
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,305
In my case, it's likely I'd want to be able to switch in the middle of a song, sounds like the OP not so much.

Re: XLR A/B switch (for Vocoder) [Re: J. Dan] #3007540 09/11/19 03:41 AM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 13,419
J. Dan Offline OP
Bannination Free Since '08
10k Club
OP Offline
Bannination Free Since '08
10k Club
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 13,419
$90 is pretty pricey. I've found others as little as $45. Yes I thought about pops with my idea....considered wiring in some resistors to ground large enough that they wouldn't load it down and affect the signal, but also eliminate pops. That would be cheap. Taping 2 mics together first of all is extremely cheesy and second of all would not prevent my voice from coming through FOH since it would still be in front of the other mic - may as well just use a splitter.


Dan

Acoustic/Electric stringed instruments ranging from 4 to 230 strings, hammered, picked, fingered, slapped, and plucked. Analog and Digital Electronic instruments, reeds, and throat/mouth.
Re: XLR A/B switch (for Vocoder) [Re: J. Dan] #3007568 09/11/19 12:19 PM
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2,364
S
stoken6 Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
S
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2,364
Originally Posted by J. Dan
Taping 2 mics together [...]would not prevent my voice from coming through FOH since it would still be in front of the other mic - may as well just use a splitter.
D'oh! Forget I posted Dan, I'll just crawl into this hole.


AX48.PM351.FC7.VFP2
One or two keyboards.

Moderated by  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3