Music Player Network

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
New Roland Fantom #3006641 09/05/19 07:20 AM
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 176
gino Offline OP
Senior Member
OP Offline
Senior Member
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 176

Last edited by gino; 09/05/19 07:33 AM.
KC Island
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006642 09/05/19 07:35 AM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 40
A
Aperkeys Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
A
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 40
Finally. Yet, did I miss - NO user Multisamples???


My Gear: Korg Kronos X 73, Nord Stage EX Compact, Kurzweil PC3K6 (For rehearsals mainly).
My Band: Aperco.
https://www.youtube.com/user/apercoband
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006644 09/05/19 07:41 AM
Joined: Sep 2017
Posts: 70
M
mojkarma Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
M
Joined: Sep 2017
Posts: 70
Obviously no multisamples. Roland wouldn't be Roland if they wouldn't screw things up again.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: mojkarma] #3006645 09/05/19 07:45 AM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 40
A
Aperkeys Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
A
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 40
Unless they pull a "Kurzweil Forte" two years from now wink


My Gear: Korg Kronos X 73, Nord Stage EX Compact, Kurzweil PC3K6 (For rehearsals mainly).
My Band: Aperco.
https://www.youtube.com/user/apercoband
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006647 09/05/19 07:58 AM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 12,849
R
RABid Offline
10k Club
Offline
10k Club
R
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 12,849
Lack of multisamples is nothing to me. I would venture that less than 5 percent of past Fantom users ever use them. Plus you can always connect a computer. I like the dual CV/Gate outputs and it seems that they are really targeting the electronic music scene.

I'm more interested in knowing if they integrated the organ.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: RABid] #3006651 09/05/19 08:28 AM
Joined: Sep 2017
Posts: 70
M
mojkarma Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
M
Joined: Sep 2017
Posts: 70
Originally Posted by RABid
Lack of multisamples is nothing to me. I would venture that less than 5 percent of past Fantom users ever use them. Plus you can always connect a computer.


I could be wrong, but I suppose that most people who buy keyboards these days, do it because they play live. In the studio you can replace everything with the computer, not just the multisample option. Now, if you take the bigger picture, worldwide people will miss some specific sounds (probably mostly ethnic type natural sounds) which are not present in the Fantom and can't be added later. So, they will skip the Fantom and buy a Montage or Kronos instead.
But you could be right, they are probably targeting the electronic music scene. Another bad decision IMHO because an all purpose keyboard like a Fantom should be targeted to a wider range and there is not a lot missing to achieve that.

Last edited by mojkarma; 09/05/19 08:36 AM.
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006652 09/05/19 09:03 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,172
zephonic Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,172
I’m in TEARS!

Tears of joy...

...at last!


F—k the new MacPro, I’m getting me a Fantom.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006657 09/05/19 10:51 AM
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 906
B
Bill W Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
B
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 906
Unfortunately, I live and die by multisampling. However, there is a glimmer of hope:

Quote
Drawing from over four decades of genre-defining sounds, FANTOM’s expandable sound engine nails our classic synths but pushes into new sonic territory as well. Our custom Behavior Modeling Chips power FANTOM’s core, with smooth and precise control, loads of polyphony, and full patch remain. And FANTOM is part of an expandable platform, with new sounds and new possibilities coming.


Maybe it'll be like the G-series where multisampling was added later.

Last edited by Bill W; 09/05/19 10:56 AM.

Korg Kronos 61 (2); Casio PX-350M; 2015 Macbook Pro and 2012 Mac Mini (Logic Pro X and Mainstage).

My Genesis Tribute Band: www.sellingfairfaxbythepound.com


Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006658 09/05/19 10:59 AM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 7,337
ElmerJFudd Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 7,337
The V-Piano is an engine here yes?
So they don’t need multisamples for the pianos it would seem.


Live: Casio PX-560, Roland VR-700
Home: Rebuilt 1910 Chickering 5'2", Fender Rhodes MKI 88k, Yamaha S90ES
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006659 09/05/19 11:27 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 11,299
Synthoid Offline
10k Club
Offline
10k Club
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 11,299
[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]


When an eel hits your eye like a big pizza pie, that's a Moray.
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006660 09/05/19 11:33 AM
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2,364
S
stoken6 Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
S
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2,364
Interesting that Roland think they can turn a profit with a new workstation.

Cheers, Mike.


AX48.PM351.FC7.VFP2
One or two keyboards.
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006665 09/05/19 12:10 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,835
ABECK Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,835
Looks surprisingly like the Montage/ModX from a distance.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006666 09/05/19 12:14 PM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,483
CEB Online Content
10k Club
Online Content
10k Club
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,483
They went down the same road as Montage. Everything is a single mode. I don’t care for the color scheme on the right panel, looks like it will be harder to read in low light conditions , sort of like the MOX. But the specs look solid. The 8 is 61 pounds, the 7 is around 40 pounds. These are real instruments.

Last edited by CEB; 09/05/19 12:16 PM.

"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!
So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006669 09/05/19 12:26 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,255
M
MotiDave Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
M
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,255
Game Changer.


The baiting I do is purely for entertainment value. Please feel free to ignore it.
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: ABECK] #3006670 09/05/19 12:30 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 11,299
Synthoid Offline
10k Club
Offline
10k Club
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 11,299
Originally Posted by ABECK
Looks surprisingly like the Montage/ModX from a distance.


With a little bit of Nord red thrown in as well.


When an eel hits your eye like a big pizza pie, that's a Moray.
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006671 09/05/19 12:37 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 682
J
jeffinpghpa Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
J
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 682
Looks like a real instrument. As Andrew said, it seems to borrow a lot of look from a Montage. At the end of the day, I can't yet clearly summarize what this allows me to do that I can't do with my FA-07.

I think I'm more likely to GAS for the new Jupiter next year as my workstation interests continue to move further into the MacBook platform.

But it's nice to see Roland come back with some real flagship builds again! Seems to be a welcome new generation of choices for us.


Yamaha U1 Upright, Kurzweil Forte 7, Viscount Legend Live, Roland FA-07, Native Instruments Komplete Kontrol S61 Mk2, Arturia V Collection 6, Komplete 12, Lots of iPad Stuff, Pair of QSC K10 Speakers
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006674 09/05/19 12:55 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 11,299
Synthoid Offline
10k Club
Offline
10k Club
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 11,299
Prices so far:

Fantom 6 $3299

Fantom 7 $3599

Fantom 8 $3999


When an eel hits your eye like a big pizza pie, that's a Moray.
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006679 09/05/19 01:25 PM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 7,337
ElmerJFudd Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 7,337
What happened to Roland being the value for your $ synth manufacturer? ouch.


Live: Casio PX-560, Roland VR-700
Home: Rebuilt 1910 Chickering 5'2", Fender Rhodes MKI 88k, Yamaha S90ES
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006681 09/05/19 01:31 PM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 767
rickzjamm Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 767
Also borrows from the Kronos (now almost everybody has jumped on the touch screen bandwagon & about time). Love Roland sounds & the configuration looks intuitive but it gained weight, not a gigging board.


Plan your work & work your plan.
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006689 09/05/19 03:40 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,332
EscapeRocks Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,332
So....yeah!!!!!

I just got done watching the long video with the connectivity breakdown as far as all the i/o.... This is a serious instrument that speaks directly to me. I love they've brought over the XLR outs, as well as the XLR In.

Also, it's built in Audio i/0 can have its outputs routed to any of the physical outputs. Which brings me to having the 2 sets of sub outs (4 total). In my use, I could run the organ thru a sub out to my Lester K. etc..etc..

Yes, I am one of those who doesn't need user multi-sampling. Like anything, specific features likes and dislikes come down to individual desires. I never used it on my old Fantom X6. I did use expansion cards. It appears they say the new one is designed to be expandable?

Anyway, my initial though is.... I want one


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Yamaha MODX6 |

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: MotiDave] #3006692 09/05/19 03:46 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 8,803
davedoerfler Offline
MPN Advisory Board
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MPN Advisory Board
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 8,803
Originally Posted by MotiDave
Game Changer.

stooges grin


A reason why I collect old keyboards is that I feel partly responsible for doing it, responsible for preserving history and being a custodian for these things
Plus, old gear has a story. I like that.
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006695 09/05/19 03:51 PM
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 14
S
SteveUK Offline
Member
Offline
Member
S
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 14
3 USB sockets for external controllers looks pretty tasty 👍

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006697 09/05/19 04:08 PM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,483
CEB Online Content
10k Club
Online Content
10k Club
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,483
I’ll take the 7 if I don’t retire. Maybe give the FA06 to a young player. But retirement maybe a lot of fun.


"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!
So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006700 09/05/19 04:28 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,729
G
GregC Online Content
MP Hall of Fame Member
Online Content
MP Hall of Fame Member
G
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,729
I think the ' modeless ' concept is smart

No reliance on keeping up with computer tech , or struggling with massive processing requirements.

And the recording, YESSir. I like the strength and options, etc etc

Last edited by GregC; 09/05/19 04:38 PM.
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006704 09/05/19 04:41 PM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 767
rickzjamm Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 767
Has the best of the Forte, Nord (well, the jury's still out on the organs), Yamaha and even some in house borrowing from the FA series... add that to the Roland PHA-5 hammer action! Yeah it's a dream board, I want.


Plan your work & work your plan.
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: SteveUK] #3006708 09/05/19 05:07 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,332
EscapeRocks Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,332
Originally Posted by SteveUK
3 USB sockets for external controllers looks pretty tasty 👍


I especially like this


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Yamaha MODX6 |

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006712 09/05/19 05:22 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 10,809
nursers Offline
10k Club
Offline
10k Club
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 10,809
It's one solid offering . If I didn't have a Kronos and was looking for a big workstation this would be high on the list, although it's heavyish (Fantom 7 is same weight as my Kronos LE 88).

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006718 09/05/19 05:45 PM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 40
A
Aperkeys Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
A
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 40
From the features at the Roland site:
Quote
FANTOM runs multiple synthesis technologies simultaneously, for authentic acoustic and electronic sounds, both modern and classic. You can also sample your own sounds and trigger up to 2 GBs worth of loops and one-shots from the pad matrix. There’s a fully routable analog filter for extra warmth and grit, and you can even mix soft synths with FANTOM’s internal sounds.

"Sample your own sounds". Is this the indication user multisamples will come in the future?


My Gear: Korg Kronos X 73, Nord Stage EX Compact, Kurzweil PC3K6 (For rehearsals mainly).
My Band: Aperco.
https://www.youtube.com/user/apercoband
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3006719 09/05/19 05:47 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,172
zephonic Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,172
At this point, I’m just glad Roland hasn’t abandoned this market. After the Jupiters were discontinued I really thought they were done here. I regretted selling my Jupiter 50, thinking they weren’t gonna make another thing like it.

As much as I have appreciated my Yamahas/Korg/Nord, I don’t vibe with them quite the way I vibe with Roland’s stuff.

Sweetwater lists them as in stock and shipping now. I can’t wait!


As for future updates, I remember the Fantom X didn’t have audio recording at first, that was added with the 2.0 update. So adding multi-sampling with an update sounds possible to me.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: EscapeRocks] #3006720 09/05/19 06:05 PM
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2,364
S
stoken6 Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
S
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2,364
Originally Posted by EscapeRocks
Originally Posted by SteveUK
3 USB sockets for external controllers looks pretty tasty 👍


I especially like this


I saw that. Yamaha P125 under a Fantom 6 or 7 is a sweet rig (assuming the organs are up to scratch) although a bit heavy for a top board.

Cheers, Mike.


AX48.PM351.FC7.VFP2
One or two keyboards.
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Moderated by  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3