Music Player Network

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 7 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: AnotherScott] #3007715 09/12/19 03:45 AM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,925
allan_evett Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,925
Originally Posted by AnotherScott
Originally Posted by GregC
Originally Posted by Legatoboy
to expensive....nice ax though.


yes, $4000 is a lot of money. Initially.

and also right in line with other top of line boards. Fantom-8, Montage 8, Forte 88, are all $4k. Kronos a little less at $3800, Nord Stage 3 88 higher at $4500.

And assuming you could get the sounds you need from any of them, I'd say the Roland approaches Nord in control surface (even better in some ways), without bringing along Nord's substantial limitations in things like split/layer and MIDI flexibility. I think it's a nice step toward a worthwhile goal of workstation-like depth with Nord-style operational ergonomics. (Too bad they can't compete in travel weight, though.)

The travel weight put me off rather quickly. Love my RD-2000, but if I could condense that, my JP50 and XV-5080 into a single 88 I could save a bunch a space and have a stage piano replication of the RD with a lot of additional synth capability (among other things, such as the sample pads). But 61 lbs vs the 48 of the RD2000? Nada..




"Someday, we will look back on these days and laugh. It may be a maniacal laugh from within the confines of our padded cells, but it will be a laugh nonetheless" - Mr. Boffo.







KC Island
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3007716 09/12/19 03:46 AM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 848
Mighty Motif Max Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 848
My understanding is that the sequencer is a phrase-based one, limited to 32 measures per section, then eight sections per track? Basically Pattern Mode on the Motif series then. Just a simple linear sequencer would be nice.


Yamaha: Motif XF8/YS200/CVP-305/CLP-130/YPG-235/PSR-295/PSS-470
Korg: Krome 61
Roland: JV-1000
Casio: CT-370
Kimball Valencia/Broadway/Conn 465 w/144 spkrs/WCOC Reed Organ/Titano Virtuoso Converter
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3007723 09/12/19 05:36 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 8,247
MikeT156 Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 8,247
The only thing I can say is that a player can make sections repeat or have a similar section that is shorter than the previous one of less than 32 to complete the phrase. The Roland Rep said the synth could be Linear, pattern based, or phrase based. I don't know if what he said was true, or if I didn't pay close enough attention to how he said it.

I do classic rock covers and have been using a Motif ES8 since that synth came out and I never ran out of space or measures on the Yamaha.


Mike T.


Yamaha Motif ES8, Alesis Ion, Prophet 5 Rev 3.2, 1979 Rhodes Mark 1 Suitcase 73 Piano, Arp Odyssey Md III, Roland R-70 Drum Machine, Digitech Vocalist Live Pro. Roland Boss Chorus Ensemble CE-1.
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: Mighty Motif Max] #3007724 09/12/19 05:43 AM
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 176
gino Offline OP
Senior Member
OP Offline
Senior Member
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 176
Website says Recording Methods are - Realtime recording, Step recording, TR-REC. I think the realtime recording is the linear sequencing method.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3007759 09/12/19 02:57 PM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 767
rickzjamm Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 767
AnotherScott echoed my thoughts... the F8's beefy 61 lbs. make it hard to justify gigging with it (seems like it's meant for the studio or burly roadies of a major act) & not sure if the F7 "weighted action" will cut it for APs or would you have to do some serious adapting? It does seem to be an all in one board for gigs & I feel this is the NS3 slayer except for the weight.
Still wanting one but justifying the price is a slippery slope for me. Good news is according to Ed Diaz SN are on the way...


Plan your work & work your plan.
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: rickzjamm] #3007813 09/12/19 07:24 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,332
EscapeRocks Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,332
Originally Posted by rickzjamm
AnotherScott echoed my thoughts... the F8's beefy 61 lbs. make it hard to justify gigging with it (seems like it's meant for the studio or burly roadies of a major act) & not sure if the F7 "weighted action" will cut it for APs or would you have to do some serious adapting? It does seem to be an all in one board for gigs & I feel this is the NS3 slayer except for the weight.
Still wanting one but justifying the price is a slippery slope for me. Good news is according to Ed Diaz SN are on the way...



yes, the F8 is 61 lbs..... but that's actually lighter than it's predecessor, the G8 that came in in the 70lb area. Lot of people around here (Texas) gig with the X8 and G8
Heck, the Motif XF8 is almost 62lbs....and those are all over the gigging world around here.

I agree it's heavy and not for everyone, including me. However, this isn't a new thing for high end 88note workstations.


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Yamaha MODX6 |

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3007814 09/12/19 07:49 PM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,483
CEB Offline
10k Club
Offline
10k Club
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,483
Stop being a bunch of girlie men. The Kronos 2-88 and Montage-8 are heavy also. If I I can do it anyone can. 😀😀😀

You need to ‘Pump you up’. 🥩🥩🥩🏋️‍♂️🏋️‍♂️🏋️‍♂️💪💪💪


"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!
So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: CEB] #3007823 09/12/19 09:00 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 11,299
Synthoid Offline
10k Club
Offline
10k Club
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 11,299
Originally Posted by CEB
Stop being a bunch of girlie men.


[Linked Image from 2.bp.blogspot.com]


When an eel hits your eye like a big pizza pie, that's a Moray.
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3007824 09/12/19 09:05 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 682
J
jeffinpghpa Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
J
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 682
This guy likes to carry TWO Fantom 8's in hard SKB cases up two flights of stairs using only one arm.

Complains that the Fantom 8 isn't heavy enough for him. Carries a subwoofer in the other hand for his bandmates.

#GymGoals

Attached Files
Piano.png (579.84 KB, 321 downloads)

Yamaha U1 Upright, Kurzweil Forte 7, Viscount Legend Live, Roland FA-07, Native Instruments Komplete Kontrol S61 Mk2, Arturia V Collection 6, Komplete 12, Lots of iPad Stuff, Pair of QSC K10 Speakers
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3007831 09/12/19 10:09 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,332
EscapeRocks Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,332
HAHA!


It's not that I can't lug the 60+lb boards..... it's that I don't want to anymore. I don't mind the 30is lb boards in a 61.


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Yamaha MODX6 |

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3007839 09/12/19 11:04 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,728
G
GregC Online Content
MP Hall of Fame Member
Online Content
MP Hall of Fame Member
G
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,728
I find it interesting.

folks can purchase a heavy $3000- $4000 keyboard and spend maybe $10,000 on a rig

I would go the extra mile and hire a roadie. Likely worth the $50 or more for a night

Last edited by GregC; 09/13/19 12:08 AM.
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: GregC] #3007848 09/13/19 12:26 AM
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 265
C
Charleston Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
C
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 265
I always needed a bodyguard more than a roadie. Someone to be on the lookout when loading out, and loading back into my house in the middle of the night.


NI, Arturia, Ableton, Waves, Casio VL-1/MT-500, Yamaha KX5, Roland Juno 106/D50/XP80/P-55/A-49, Korg M1/WavestationSR/Microstation/Microkey, Peavey C8, SK1, QS6, Yamaha G2 grand
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: Charleston] #3007850 09/13/19 12:34 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,728
G
GregC Online Content
MP Hall of Fame Member
Online Content
MP Hall of Fame Member
G
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,728
Originally Posted by Charleston
I always needed a bodyguard more than a roadie. Someone to be on the lookout when loading out, and loading back into my house in the middle of the night.


I agree. Its no diff in my area. Would have a g/f or buddy with a cell phone keeping watch.
And in the crowd

In addition to the muscle

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3007860 09/13/19 01:02 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,172
zephonic Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,172
Had a brief encounter with the F8 just now. Looks like there’s a bit of a learning curve (zones/scenes/tones), it’s different from the Rolands of yore.

Soundwise, it feels hifi and up to date, while retaining that Roland character.

I want to have a better idea of the architecture and possibilities before I take the plunge, but it would take something major to hold me back, I think.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: zephonic] #3007867 09/13/19 01:54 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 10,809
nursers Offline
10k Club
Offline
10k Club
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 10,809
Originally Posted by zephonic
Had a brief encounter with the F8 just now. Looks like there’s a bit of a learning curve (zones/scenes/tones), it’s different from the Rolands of yore.

Soundwise, it feels hifi and up to date, while retaining that Roland character.

I want to have a better idea of the architecture and possibilities before I take the plunge, but it would take something major to hold me back, I think.


Stop these positive stories I cannot afford one of these damn things grin

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: nursers] #3007870 09/13/19 02:03 AM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,401
K
KeyMoe Offline
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
K
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,401
Originally Posted by nursers
Originally Posted by zephonic
Had a brief encounter with the F8 just now. Looks like there’s a bit of a learning curve (zones/scenes/tones), it’s different from the Rolands of yore.

Soundwise, it feels hifi and up to date, while retaining that Roland character.

I want to have a better idea of the architecture and possibilities before I take the plunge, but it would take something major to hold me back, I think.


Stop these positive stories I cannot afford one of these damn things grin
. THIS!


Montage 7, Mojo 61, PC-3, XK-3c Pro, Fantom X-7, Kronos 88, Hammond SK-1, Motif XF- 7, PC361, Hammond SK-2, Roland FR-1, FR-18, Hammond B3 - Blond, Hammond BV -Cherry
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3007874 09/13/19 02:34 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,332
EscapeRocks Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,332
Yep.
I’ve got to stop going to GC and messing with the 6 they have


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Yamaha MODX6 |

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: GregC] #3007875 09/13/19 02:39 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,332
EscapeRocks Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,332
Originally Posted by GregC
Originally Posted by Charleston
I always needed a bodyguard more than a roadie. Someone to be on the lookout when loading out, and loading back into my house in the middle of the night.


I agree. Its no diff in my area. Would have a g/f or buddy with a cell phone keeping watch.
And in the crowd

In addition to the muscle


This one of the things, among many, I enjoy about the Biker gigs we do. They totally take care of you, prospects are your roadies and security. And they’re really cool to everyone in the band.

We have a good relationship with a couple clubs here and we play about 2 shows a year.


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Yamaha MODX6 |

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: zephonic] #3007893 09/13/19 08:35 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,172
zephonic Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,172
Originally Posted by zephonic
Had a brief encounter with the F8 just now. Looks like there’s a bit of a learning curve (zones/scenes/tones), it’s different from the Rolands of yore.

Soundwise, it feels hifi and up to date, while retaining that Roland character.

I want to have a better idea of the architecture and possibilities before I take the plunge, but it would take something major to hold me back, I think.


Let me add some context: I didn't spend much time with the bread and butter sounds (piano, EP, organ, clav, gtr, etc.) but what little I played didn't impress me much. Serviceable, but a bit déja vu.

I was mostly interested in the synth stuff; you know, Roland's pads, synthleads, bell-like sounds etc. They have traditionally excelled at that, and my first impression is that the new Fantom has it in spades, and it seems there's plenty of new flavors to discover and savor.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3007945 09/13/19 04:18 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 114
K
kbrkr Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
K
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 114
I thought this review / Demo was pretty interesting in terms of feature set and sound quality. Also a nice demonstration of song makeup possibilities.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hZLJyHm506k

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3007978 09/13/19 08:41 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,943
Sven Golly Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,943
Was lucky enough to spend some time with this (the 61 key version) last night & today, along with a brief run on the Jupiter Xm.

My comment to those in attendance was that this was the first Roland keyboard in at least a decade where I sat down and played and wondered if Eric Persing had been involved in the design/sound creation for it.

Other "damn, I want this" moments: the integration between Mainstage's Smart Controls and the Fantom display shocked and the Ableton-like scene/clip capability.

Still a few things that could be improved, and likely will, but overall my reaction was that this was a damn sexy beast, and I wish robbing a bank was easier. wink

Shots definitely fired over (or perhaps through) the bow of the Kronos, here. 2thu


"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: Sven Golly] #3007980 09/13/19 08:51 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,332
EscapeRocks Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,332
Originally Posted by Sven Golly


Other "damn, I want this" moments: the integration between Mainstage's Smart Controls and the Fantom display shocked and the Ableton-like scene/clip capability.


thu

Like I mentioned above..... when I saw that in the video demo, my GAS went full...ugh....


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Yamaha MODX6 |

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: Sven Golly] #3007983 09/13/19 09:04 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,728
G
GregC Online Content
MP Hall of Fame Member
Online Content
MP Hall of Fame Member
G
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,728
Originally Posted by Sven Golly
W

Still a few things that could be improved, and likely will, but overall my reaction was that this was a damn sexy beast, and I wish robbing a bank was easier. wink

Shots definitely fired over (or perhaps through) the bow of the Kronos, here. 2thu


hah. By now, Korg can see there is mo money to be made on a new concept board. If they have the
R & D talent, we should see something, assuming they have it Project Planned and funded.

Why rob a bank and mess up ? Finding a woman [ GF or wifey} with money is less risky.

You can thank me next year wink

Last edited by GregC; 09/13/19 10:43 PM.
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3007987 09/13/19 09:46 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,229
Theo Verelst Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,229
I've seem some of the beter demo video's, and apart from "look at the remote screen" stuff it's interesting the Vpiano is convincingly in there (to a point ?) and there's the possibility of letting some stuff actually sound a bit. Not overly accurate, and I don't think it can replace all kinds of individual sounds, but it's a fun Roland, with some expression power, isn't it ?

T

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: Theo Verelst] #3007988 09/13/19 09:55 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,728
G
GregC Online Content
MP Hall of Fame Member
Online Content
MP Hall of Fame Member
G
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,728
Originally Posted by Theo Verelst
I've seem some of the beter demo video's, and apart from "look at the remote screen" stuff it's interesting the Vpiano is convincingly in there (to a point ?) and there's the possibility of letting some stuff actually sound a bit. Not overly accurate, and I don't think it can replace all kinds of individual sounds, but it's a fun Roland, with some expression power, isn't it ?

T


yes wink

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: Sven Golly] #3007993 09/13/19 10:31 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 11,299
Synthoid Offline
10k Club
Offline
10k Club
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 11,299
Originally Posted by Sven Golly
Shots definitely fired over (or perhaps through) the bow of the Kronos, here. 2thu


[Linked Image from cdn.thedesigninspiration.com]


When an eel hits your eye like a big pizza pie, that's a Moray.
Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3008000 09/13/19 11:48 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 259
Fleer Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 259
Tried the Fantom 8 today in-store. Great key action, actual RD-2000 quality, which I dearly prefer to Nord or Yamaha CP88.
But this thing is huge and, apart from the top, not sexy. The red part looks very plasticky and it seems the bottom is MDF, not metal.
All-in-all, it's too big and unwieldy. Roland used slopes and edges on the back and front of the RD-2000 to give it a sleeker look, but there's nothing sleek about the Fantom 8. It just looks too vast. I think I'll wait for the next Kronos. If ever.
But those sounds are really good ...

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: Fleer] #3008005 09/14/19 12:52 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,728
G
GregC Online Content
MP Hall of Fame Member
Online Content
MP Hall of Fame Member
G
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,728
Originally Posted by Fleer
Tried the Fantom 8 today in-store. Great key action, actual RD-2000 quality, which I dearly prefer to Nord or Yamaha CP88.
But this thing is huge and, apart from the top, not sexy. The red part looks very plasticky and it seems the bottom is MDF, not metal.
All-in-all, it's too big and unwieldy. Roland used slopes and edges on the back and front of the RD-2000 to give it a sleeker look, but there's nothing sleek about the Fantom 8. It just looks too vast. I think I'll wait for the next Kronos. If ever.
But those sounds are really good ...


I take it you gig, so thats a factor behind your concerns

As a home studio person, the big 88 thing is a non issue.

My cats love the V-Piano. They say its better than my Kronos AP's

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3008008 09/14/19 01:26 AM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 259
Fleer Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 259
Even worse: I visited the store today with my wife. Wrong decision if I ever made one.
So now I’m thinking Fantom 6 or 7 as they both measure 4cm less in depth and 5cm less in height compared to Fantom 8.
But then I miss that great PHA-50 action (with aftertouch) for the V-Piano.
Pretty unique to have a workstation with such amazing piano keys.

Re: New Roland Fantom [Re: gino] #3008014 09/14/19 04:30 AM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 767
rickzjamm Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 767
Yup, I have a RD-2000 & the PHA5 escapement action was a huge selling point for me but at 49 lbs. its a monster to lug around to gigs so it's a home practice board... even got one for our church. With the V-piano on the F7 if you don't have that hammer action just isn't the same but honestly I think the CP88 come very close to the PHA5.IMHO


Plan your work & work your plan.
Page 7 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Moderated by  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3