Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OTish: How many midi cables do you have?

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Since I joined the midi world when I got my then new Prophet 600, my DIN MIDI cables have taken on a life of their own.

Of course over the years, bad cable get tossed. Currently I have about 20 MIDI cable of various lengths from 3 feet to 25 feet.

I have about 10 USB A to B cables on hand in various lengths. 6 to 15 feet in my cable in my cable inventory.

David

Gig Rig:Casio Privia PX-5S | Yamaha MODX+ 6 | MacBook Pro 14" M1| Mainstage

I have not counted them in a long time. I will endeavor to do this in the coming week.

I've been buying MIDI cables since 1985 and have a variety of uses for them over the years. I have a bunch of "special project" short ones and some "extra special project" long ones, in addition to a ton of snakes that include 30' of MIDI with right angled custom jobs and so forth. I love the fact that there are a couple of MIDI cables I remember from the earliest days that I still use and still work perfectly. I have a 3' red MIDI cable with heavy duty ends and it will never die.

In the studio, Inhave a MOTU express 128 plus a M-Audio 4x4, all connected so, 24 cables at least between the Midi patchbay and the synths.... But beside the Prohet 12 that is USB complaint, all have just Midi out/in/thru, no USB....and live, I use a Roland A880, all channels connected so, same thing ar least 16 plus few thru so, maybe 20/25....I don't want any computer in my live rig so, cables....mIdi and audio, a lot.... But all,in snakes that are all labelled so, even someone who k owns nothing about my rig could plug it in....
Stage 2, C2, NL2X+TC Pedals, P08+Tetra+H9, P12+TC Chorus D50+PG1000, 2 Matrix 1K, Proteus 2K, TX802, Streichfett, Drumbrute. Guitars:G&L Legacy, Asat X2, Ibanez Artstar AS153.Bass: L2000, SR1200&2605.