Music Player Network

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
You can use Reason as a VST plug in soon #3005119 08/26/19 04:06 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 6,862
zeronyne Offline OP
I still exist
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
I still exist
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 6,862
Reason is my main DAW. But I know many people ReWire it to Live (why do people insist on calling it Ableton? Isn't that like calling Logic "Apple"?) and other DAWs. Well, at the end of next month, you can use the Rack as a VST with AU to follow at the end of the year.

Announcement Page

There is naturally some raging from Reason users who feel like the manpower could have been used elsewhere, but what else is new...

I'm going to need a faster computer, I think, which is something I have not had to think about in quite a while, oddly.

Last edited by zeronyne; 08/26/19 04:07 PM.

"For instance" is not proof.
Re: You can use Reason as a VST plug in soon [Re: zeronyne] #3005138 08/26/19 05:20 PM
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,738
Anderton Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,738
Originally Posted by zeronyne
Reason is my main DAW. But I know many people ReWire it to Live (why do people insist on calling it Ableton? Isn't that like calling Logic "Apple"?) and other DAWs. Well, at the end of next month, you can use the Rack as a VST with AU to follow at the end of the year.

Announcement Page

There is naturally some raging from Reason users who feel like the manpower could have been used elsewhere, but what else is new...


I think it's GREAT! The raging Reason users should realize that sales is what buys the manpower to do cool things, and hopefully, this will cause more people to use Reason. I think it's a great program and deserves a wider platform...this is one way they can get it.

Re: You can use Reason as a VST plug in soon [Re: Anderton] #3005146 08/26/19 05:53 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 6,862
zeronyne Offline OP
I still exist
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
I still exist
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 6,862
Originally Posted by Anderton

I think it's GREAT! The raging Reason users should realize that sales is what buys the manpower to do cool things, and hopefully, this will cause more people to use Reason. I think it's a great program and deserves a wider platform...this is one way they can get it.


Could not agree more. I was worried when the CEO retired, but they're continuing on!


"For instance" is not proof.
Re: You can use Reason as a VST plug in soon [Re: zeronyne] #3005240 08/27/19 04:02 AM
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,738
Anderton Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,738
Originally Posted by zeronyne
Originally Posted by Anderton

I think it's GREAT! The raging Reason users should realize that sales is what buys the manpower to do cool things, and hopefully, this will cause more people to use Reason. I think it's a great program and deserves a wider platform...this is one way they can get it.


Could not agree more. I was worried when the CEO retired, but they're continuing on!


Are you talking about Ernst? I had no idea.

I'm old enough, maybe I should retire. On second thought...nope. I'm having too much fun with this stuff.

Re: You can use Reason as a VST plug in soon [Re: zeronyne] #3005253 08/27/19 06:38 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,401
Geoff Grace Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,401
I think it's a great idea. I'll probably wind up using Reason more often this way, as long as I can instantiate it stably in Pro Tools (via Blue Cat Audio's PatchWork, which I use as a VST wrapper).

Thanks for the heads up 09. cool

Best,

Geoff


Enthusiasm powers the world.

Craig Anderton's Archiving Article
Re: You can use Reason as a VST plug in soon [Re: zeronyne] #3005257 08/27/19 07:26 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,401
Geoff Grace Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,401
But wait, there's more:



Best,

Geoff


Enthusiasm powers the world.

Craig Anderton's Archiving Article
Re: You can use Reason as a VST plug in soon [Re: zeronyne] #3005691 08/30/19 12:57 AM
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,738
Anderton Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,738
CEO being replaced, name being changed, Reason as a VST...all of a sudden, I realized why they HAD to change.

Reason is based on a hardware studio paradigm - patch cords, rack units, SSL mixer, etc. Reason came out around 2000 IIRC. So suppose someone 25 years old is getting into Reason now...they will have had zero experience with a hardware studio. Reason must seem confusing compared to today's streamlined DAWs.

The plug-in thing is perfect, because it ties right in with the resurgence in analog synths. Now people who have no idea about hardware studios, but understand modular synths, can use Reason in a familiar way within a familiar DAW. I wish the artist-formerly-known-as-Propellerheads-software luck in navigating the transition to a new generation.

Last edited by Anderton; 08/30/19 12:59 AM.
Re: You can use Reason as a VST plug in soon [Re: zeronyne] #3005731 08/30/19 11:21 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 135
Mike Rivers Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 135
Sigh . . . one less opportunity for people to learn how things really work.

Re: You can use Reason as a VST plug in soon [Re: Mike Rivers] #3005765 08/30/19 03:56 PM
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,738
Anderton Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,738
Originally Posted by Mike Rivers
Sigh . . . one less opportunity for people to learn how things really work.


Actually, I think it's quite the opposite. If people become aware of the concept of patching, signal flow, etc. because Reason is now a plug-in, they'll have a better of how things really work. Well, at least how things used to work smile

Re: You can use Reason as a VST plug in soon [Re: Anderton] #3006048 09/01/19 10:03 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 888
analogman1 Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 888
Can't wait for it! Already signed up as a beta tester.


Tom
Nord Electro 5D, Yamaha upright piano, numerous plug-ins
Re: You can use Reason as a VST plug in soon [Re: zeronyne] #3006050 09/01/19 10:21 PM
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,738
Anderton Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,738
I think it's a brilliant move. The company needed to try a different direction, and this is like getting a suite of plug-ins in one plug-in. This will also be ideal for the people who can't wrap their heads around using ReWire to do essentially the same thing.

Re: You can use Reason as a VST plug in soon [Re: Anderton] #3006068 09/02/19 12:49 AM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 888
analogman1 Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 888
It will be great to be able to use some of the rack extensions live, in Mainstage and/or Gig Performer...


Tom
Nord Electro 5D, Yamaha upright piano, numerous plug-ins

Moderated by  Anderton 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3