Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Greetings from HoustonGuitar

Yes, "Guitar." I hope that doesn't offend anyone here. Hello, I'm Greg in Houston. I'm a guitar player, but I double on keys. I'm almost completely self taught on keys.

I've been kicking around on Twitter and Facebook, but I'm not finding many serious-minded people either place. I haven't checked out forums since the early 2000s and alt.guitar, etc.

(I wonder what ever happened to them?)

I've been reading a thread from last year about what everyone is listening to, and what keyboard music influenced them. I'm almost surprised to find a group of people who relate to the same music as me, especially music from the sixties seventies and eighties. Since I missed that thread (I'm still reading it), I'll introduce myself by saying as an eight year old kid, I was knocked out by ELP and RW from Yes. I also liked Brian Augers Oblivion Express, early Santana + Moonflower, Traffic, Blind Faith, Allmans, Hopkins. A few years later I discovered Asleep At The Wheel and western swing. I always loved how they incorporated big band piano styles from songs like Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy From Company D.

It might surprise y'all to learn that some of us guitar players are a little puzzled by piano players and your approach to music, especially rock music. How did you learn rock piano, as opposed to what you learned in school? How many of you guys can pick out all of your parts by ear like us guitar players? I'm interested in any insight you care to share.

-- Best, GV

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I am completely self taught on keys [ it probably sounds like it to ;) ].

You will find that many keyboard players, that are serious about their art, did

not take lessons. And they sound damn good.

yes, all the bands from the 60's/70's knocked me out to. There is a ton