Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

kicking the tires on a Leslie

Planning to take a drive this week to look at a Leslie 142. I'd be connecting it to my XK-3 using a 1122 kit (which I don't own yet but would buy after buying the speaker). I've been playing clones for decades, but have never owned a Leslie (vintage or otherwise), nor have I ever been inside one. I'm an engineer (electrical) and pretty mechanically inclined, so I'm not intimidated by maintaining a Leslie, either mechanically or electrically. T hat said, I'd prefer to uncover any major issues BEFORE I purchase. The seller tells me that he'll be able to connect it to a Hammond console, so I'm planning to open the back, look, and listen for anything odd. I plan to check for sound (of course), belt tension, rubber o-ring condition on the motors. I was planning on spinning the rotor and horn by hand with the power off, to feel for bearing issues with the motors or rotor, but can't think of much else to check out. Should I check for any specifics with the amp? I see that the 122 amp has a volume control......any recommendations on where it should be set when I test it? What am I missing?

Thanks,

Lou

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

It's a loaded question with a Leslie. I'd get it unless it's totally rat infested. Depending on the condition the amp most probably will have to be recapped. It depends on where it was used and to what extent. Tires most likely would have to be replaced depending on the number of hours on the Leslie. The good thing is a 142 is probably the rarest Leslie around besides maybe a 30A that you will see. Most things can be replaced. Lou most of here can point you to the right resources. Can you post pictures or share them here. Guys like Todd, Wes, Mate Stubb, Delaware Dave. Moody Blues Keys know their stuff around here.