Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

The BTS (Behind the Shot) Thread

BTS = Behind the Shot or Behind the Scenes.

The preparation that goes into a final photograph isn't always seen. To make a quick parallel with music - the things that happened in the recording studio that lead to the final piece of music.

What I'd like us to share here is as much of what occurred when you took your photo. This could be the precarious place you set up your tripod to get that awesome landscape, the lighting you set up for a portrait or something that you did in post-processing that lead to the final photo. Please share as much detail as possible, camera settings, lens and more.

I'll start it out with some portrait lighting. This is one of the areas that I started learning years ago to help bring my portraits to the next level.

This was an engagement session I did. I luckily had a friend of the "groom to be" that helped me out on this windy day.

Camera: Canon T2i

Lens: 85mm f/1.8

Lighting: Cheap Flash and umbrella

Settings: 1/100 f/2.2 ISO200

http://mmartinphotography.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/MS-3534.jpg

http://mmartinphotography.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/MS-3536.jpg

-Mike Martin

Casio

Mike Martin Photography Instagram Facebook

The Big Picture Photography Forum on Music Player Network

The opinions I post here are my own and do not represent the company I work for.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Cool idea, Mike. Since even my snapshots are usually staged to a degree, I might come up with some of these along the way, where I'll share the finished shot and what the scene looks like showing how "artificial" it really is.

"I'm so crazy, I don't know this is impossible! Hoo hoo!" - Daffy Duck

"The good news is that once you start piano you never have to worry about getting laid again. More time to practice!" - MOI