Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

To Grand or not to Grand...

I got my 20 X 20 project/recording studio under construction at the moment. Initially I had a 6' to 7' Grand Piano in mind, but now I have doubts. It's not like I can fold it and put it in the closet. I'm a pianist and would love to get a nice Grand but friends tell me I should go for an upright and have that extra space. I won't be recording a band...or have band rehearsals in there. Baby Grand is an option as well, but then again if I go for a 5' baby grand, what's another foot or two to just go for the real thing. What do you guys think?
www.youtube.com/c/InTheMixReviews

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

My 2 cents.

A nice upright beats a lesser grand, and indeed for some music, can be preferable.

If your prime concern is recording the piano, it is easier (though still a science) to record a grand. And if you want the sound of a grand piano, well......

If you wish to have the piano to play for your own enjoyment and growth, but don't want to eat the space, then you can get a quality upright for much less than a quality grand.

If you decide you want a grand, go the extra mile and get at least a 6'. Otherwise, and I'm sure there are exceptions, and people that love their Baby Grands, but you are still sacrificing almost as much space, and are not reaping the full benefits that make that sacrifice worthwhile.

Moog The One, VV 64 EP, Wurlies 200A 140 7300, Forte 7, Mojo 61, OB-6, Prophet 6, Polaris, Hammond A100, Farfisa VIP, ,Young Chang 6', Voyager, E7 Clav, Midiboard, Linnstrument, Seaboard

I haven't found a baby grand that sounds ' big enough '

I am not sure about an Upright, unless you really like a Yamaha U3, for example.

IMO, I would only spend the money on grand 6 ft and over. IOW, go all the way or not at all

If you don't have the space, I don't like the compromises in your O/p.