Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Time to Re-Visit a Mac vs. PC Thread

I just updated my phone from Android 8 to 9 and now I'm in the mode of finding out what apps don't work any more, which ones need to be updated, and were they hid things in the user interface. At least I've been able to keep Windows XP going for 20 years, but with a phone, if you don't keep up with the updates, it becomes a light duty paperweight.

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Quoted: "I have a real problem with statements like "it just WORKS""

I was the (or one of) person who made that statement. It may be pedantic, but perhaps I should go into more detail. To be exact, it doesn't ALWAYS just work, but the vast majority of the time it DOES work. I've been making my livelihood since the early 1980's primarily on and with computers and networking. My skill set includes both Windows and Mac, with a small amount of Linux/Unix, and a little bit of IBM mainframe connectivity. My business specialty is "Making Microsoft and Apple PLAY NICE!"

I have used musical software (not like mp3 playback, but DAWs, various music generating methods controlled generally by MIDI, and apps for effects) in both Windows and the Mac environment. Admittedly, Windows 10 does somewhat better now that the Operating System understands MIDI and partially music apps; but that support is still not up the level that Mac OS has it integrated.