Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Reference Monitors - Listening vs. Mixing

I am trying to make a decision on either keeping or replacing my desktop studio monitors. I have a pair of KRK Rokit 6 speakers on my desktop and as far as speakers for under $400 per pair they are pretty nice for listening and practicing. (I'm not debating that they are better than Genelec or $1,000++ price points).

I like them for listening to myself in near monitor when I play on my Komplete Kontrol and laptop tools. They are decent for what they are for a basic home studio and have a front facing bass output instead of rear facing so they are a good choice if you place them near a wall.

I'm not a professional studio by any means, just an average Joe Home Studio guy with lots of a VSTs and soft synths who likes to use Logic Pro X, Garage Band and Main Stage stuff at home.

However, the one gripe I have about the Rokit 6 speakers is that they're great for listening and practicing but I wouldn't mix on them. I have a dilemma if I want to trade them for a flatter reference monitor, in particular the Yamaha HS5 for a minimal cash outlay to trade them in and get a new pair on sale. I think the Yamaha's would give me a much truer and flat sound, and more clarity, which would be better for mixing, but less exciting for producing, practicing, or general listening (like YouTube, Netflix or music).

I don't love that the Rokit 6 are pretty large for a desktop and take up a lot of width and depth for a 6" speaker. The Yamaha HS5 is a much smaller footprint on the desk but also at the expense of not really putting out much bass, but provide a super clean middle and upper for mixing. Listening to some of my Reaktor, Massive X and Arturia V-Collection sounds on the Rokits is still a blast, even if my neighbors don't like it so much. :-)