Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Looking for rackmount module recs

Keyboard/Synth novice here.

I play guitar, but need to add piano to some live shows. I have a Studiologic SL73 to use as a controller and want to just run a midi cable back to my rack of guitar and audio gear into a rackmount sound module.

I am looking for some U2 New Year's Day tones (which I believe was a Yamaha CP-70) and Coldplay piano-style tones (Chris Martin favors the Kawai MP9000).

It would also be nice to have a unit that I can load sounds into, but that isn't a requirement, more of a desire. And I understand it may be nice to use software sounds on a computer, but for several reasons, that is not possible in this situation.

Can any of you pros give me some recommendations for a 1-space rack unit? Willing to go as high as $1000 for something killer, but would prefer something used for less than $500.

Thanks in advance!

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

A.C.,

Thanks for responding!

It looks like an amazing unit. But it probably busts my budget of $1000 American, and it appears it will take up TWO rack spaces, as opposed to one. If its my only option, I could try to find a way to make it work, but Im hoping there is something better suited to my situation.

Thanks.

SX7 would be two rack spaces.

Used Motif Rack XS works, the earlier Motif Rack ES would better fit budget.

I understand a computer won't work. What about an iPad or even smaller iPad Mini or iPod Touch, which could velcro almost invisibly to the SL73? (Or potentially to the inside of a rack, though you might want more access to it than that.)

Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our now not-so-new new video at https://youtu.be/3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out! And hopefully I'll have something new here this year. ;-)