Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OT: dB vs. Nature: The saga continues

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Thanks so much, guys.

It'll actually be good to have the down time tio be able to focus on some of the things we wanna do with the forums now that we have the keys to the place, and good to have something to do that should keep me in a chair.

I'm not very good at staying in a chair. :idk::facepalm:

dB

:snax:

:keys:==> David Bryce Music • Funky Young Monks <==:rawk:

Good luck. Do what the doctors say. Old age ain't for wimps.

"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!

So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt

Ask about a nerve block with a slow-release encapsulated local anesthetic (bupivicaine). Expensive as hell, but you get 48 hours (or more) pain-free or close to it.

The slow release bupivicaine (Exparel) is patented, unlike the plain local anesthetic. The difference is that it is delivered by a patented process (encapsulated in lipid globules that release it in a predictable manner) and costs about $300 compared to $3 for the same amount of plain

Of course, lots of people say the Exparel is no better than the older techniques.

A good interscalene or supraclavicular block does tend to last more than 24 hrs (my wife's lasted 36), so the extra for the slow release bupivicaine may not be worth it. Also, some people don't like having the prolonged motor blockade.

I had a femoral nerve block for my R knee ACL reconstruction; that night my leg itched like crazy, but I couldn't feel it when I scratched the skin. Did nothing for the bone pain...

I am sorry to hear about the shoulder surgery Dave. It is so dB you that you treat this as an opportunity ... to find new things to work on. :love:

Wishing you a safe procedure and a speedy recovery.

Jerry