Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

CP4 Headphone Static/Distortion?

Hey everyone,

I recently purchased a second-hand Yamaha CP4 Stage. It's in excellent condition and appears to hardly have been played.

However, I'm noticing static in the headphones when I raise the volume and mid-range EQ. It's especially prevalent when I play a large chord. I'm experiencing this with two different sets of headphones. I don't have an amp, so can't verify that this is happening with an amp. Is this normal? Bear in mind, I'm an audio noob. I'm hoping that this thing just puts out too much power for consumer headphones.

Thanks in advance!

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Is it static (always there) or is it more like distortion? Some of the pianos sound like they are distorting if you play them too loud, especially in the octave or two above middle C. I think this is trying to emulate what happens with a real acoustic piano.
CA93, MODX8, YC88, K8.2

It's not static because it's not always there. I guess it might be more accurately described as distortion. The greater the EQ values, and the more simultaneous notes I play, the greater the distortion.

I've tried this with a pair of Bose IE2 and Grado SR-80 headphones, both plugged in using a 1/4" adapter. Do I just need a better set of headphones?

Those seem like pretty good headphones to me. Are you having to turn the volume knob way up to hear the piano at a comfortable level? I wonder if there is something set in the programs that is affecting the output level? You might want to try a factory reset if you havent set up any programs yet.
CA93, MODX8, YC88, K8.2

Thanks, Coker.