Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Any experience with MIDI controlled vocal harmonies?

I've just joined a Queen tribute band, and the previous keyboard player used a vocal harmoniser with MIDI input to augment the vocals, and they want me to do the same. I've never done anything like that before, so I was wondering if anybody on here had any recommendations or tips?

The only product that I could find that looks suitable is the Roland VT-4 (https://www.musictech.net/reviews/roland-vt-4-voice-transformer/). Any feedback on that or suggestions for alternatives?

Neil

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

If you are gigging a laptop with a MIDI controller with something like iZotope Nectar will do this for you in real time, or to pre-recorded vocal tracks.

[video:youtube]

Also a second hand Roland V-Synth GT

Yamaha CP88, Casio PX-560

^ I found latency to be an issue with Nectar and Nectar 2 in real-time processing (playing through midi). I don't know if this has been fixed in Nectar 3.

I assume this would be dependent also upon the in/out latency that the computer+audio interface is capable of, ya?

You happen to know if this feature requires the full version of Nectar 3?

TC Voice Lives are what we use.

A pair of them.

I change presets for the vocalists, kick off and on delays, etc.

They sound really good and the cheapest one with the least bells and whistles is fine.

I bought a pair used for 400 USD.

18 months of use and Id recommend them to any band with a competent MIDI Controller.

We have 2 lead singers and I was tired of hearing 2 voices.

Since I hate singing I felt my opinion was unworthy unless I provided a solution.

Naturally they cringed but realized resistance was futile.

Our main vocalist has a fantastic voice, but doesnt take well to criticism, and after 2 x 45s she starts singing flat.