Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OT: Interesting Gig This Weekend

Ive been playing out for nearly 40 years, and pretty much feel Ive seen it all but my band has been hired for a gig this weekend which may throw that statement into question: a swingers dance. Its reportedly being held in this upscale barn that contains tables/chairs, dance floor, bar, etc., on the main floor (probably not unlike a regular banquet hall) but we were also advised there is a loft that goes around the perimeter of the second floor where people converge, and well, you know...

Not sure what to expect, so thought Id throw it out there for some advice/input, as I have no basis to draw upon. The lady who hired us asked if the band would be offended by people showing up in, should we say, less than full attire. I have no problem with that, but just wonder how things roll at these events, proper etiquette (for non-participants, of course!), etc. For the record, we are being paid very well, invited to eat, and only have to play two 75-minutes sets. They also told us that they want a lot of dance music, no ballads, pretty much all high energy.

Of course, some of my musician friends have recommended that we learn Ravels Bolero or that I play that dissonant piano line from the movie Eyes Wide Shut. Another buddy asked if we needed an extra roadie. So if anyone has ever played for this level of depravity (or not), please chime in!

"We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing."

- George Bernard Shaw

• Replies 48
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I love swing dancing! Oh wait, that's not what you meant . . .

Do you have time to learn new material, or are you basically picking from your repertoire? No ballads makes sense, but 100% high energy dance music doesn't make sense either.