Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Getting Back Into Photography

Back in the 1980's, I worked as a photographer and sales rep for a commercial photography studio. It was great experience... studio and location work for corporations and advertising agencies.

I had also done wedding and portrait work before that. (Horrors!) Working with the public, especially weddings, can be extremely tedious. I admire the patience of anyone who does that for a living.

Anyway, over the last 5 years I've been taking pictures here and there with my smartphone and have been happy with the results, but really missed using an SLR with changeable lenses and all the goodies that go along with that experience. So yesterday I went out and bought a Nikon DSLR since I can use my legacy Nikkor lenses with it, although without the fancy auto-focus features and whatnot.

The new camera is great--lots of features that will take awhile to figure out--however, I came across some tutorials on YouTube that were extremely helpful.

Then this morning I dug out my old Nikon F2. OMG! I had forgotten how heavy it is. Such amazing build quality, but the weight is unbelievable now. And I used to walk around with that hanging from my neck! The new DSLR's are so much lighter and compact.

Hopefully I'll upload some pictures to the forum after I figure all this out. :laugh:

When an eel hits your eye like a big pizza pie, that's a Moray.

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Cool. We have a thread for that. clonk here.

IIRC, you're not a part of the evil FB world, but if I'm wrong about that, we also have a group for ourselves made up of mostly the same people. danger! evil FB!!!

"I'm so crazy, I don't know this is impossible! Hoo hoo!" - Daffy Duck

"The good news is that once you start piano you never have to worry about getting laid again. More time to practice!" - MOI