Music

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Vintage Rhodes and 88800000 Organ in Casio PX-S3000 #2986603
04/24/19 02:08 PM
04/24/19 02:08 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,451
Jazz+ Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
Jazz+  Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,451
There is no default clean tone vintage Fender Rhodes TONE in the PX-S3000.

However, you can get a nice clean tone Rhodes by stripping away the heavy Phase Shifter and Tremolo DSP applied to EP 1 by using the following edit settings:

Select "004:Elec.Piano 1" from the [TONE]E.PIANOS section.

To defeat the Phaser and Tremolo:
Change the [CTRL]DSP to 006:Stereo3BndEQ
Increase its EQ3 Gain to +6 to get a pronounced tine.

Change the [CTRL]KNOB to 03:Up 1 Cho/Rev

Change the Reverb Sound Effect to Room 2

Adjust to taste the Chorus Level with Knob 1.
Adjust to taste the Reverb Level with Knob 2.

Save as a Registration.



Casio PX-S3000 | Mojo 61 | Fender Rhodes | 1966 Mason & Hamlin piano
KC Island
Re: Creating a clean tone vintage Rhodes in Casio PX-S3000 [Re: Jazz+] #2986604
04/24/19 02:10 PM
04/24/19 02:10 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,451
Jazz+ Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
Jazz+  Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,451
I have a similar recipe to fix the Jimmy Smith 88800000 ORGAN TONE.
The factory set it with FAST Rotary and too much of it. Most Jazz players use Slow or Stopped Rotary.

The important fix for the [TONE] ORGAN 001: JS Organ is to change the default DSP to:

[CTRL]DSP 017: Drive Rotary
Adjust its Gain to taste (I chose +55)
DSP 017's Slow Rotary setting is mild enough that it's not bothersome, imo.

Leave the Knobs as is ([CTRL]KNOBS 001:Filter) you may adjust Frequency Cut Off and Resonance to taste, which act like an EQ.

SPLIT with Organ Bass: [TONE] OTHERS 106:Organ Bass

Save as a Registration

------------------------------

[TONE] ORGAN 012.Elec.Organ 5 is a good Latin tone organ as is. It sounds similar to Walter Wanderley's "Os Grilos" organ sound.

Re: Creating a clean tone vintage Rhodes in Casio PX-S3000 [Re: Jazz+] #2986608
04/24/19 02:26 PM
04/24/19 02:26 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 75
Northern California
T
tnelson Offline
Senior Member
tnelson  Offline
Senior Member
T

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 75
Northern California
It might be useful to have an alternative registration with the knobs assigned to adjust stereo panning, as in a Suitcase Rhodes. From the manual, the AutoPan DSP module is available for the EPs, but not sure which of its parameters can be assigned to the knobs.

Re: Creating a clean tone vintage Rhodes in Casio PX-S3000 [Re: tnelson] #2986626
04/24/19 04:31 PM
04/24/19 04:31 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,085
J
jerrythek Offline
MPN Advisory Board
jerrythek  Offline
MPN Advisory Board
Platinum Member
J

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,085
Originally Posted By: tnelson
It might be useful to have an alternative registration with the knobs assigned to adjust stereo panning, as in a Suitcase Rhodes. From the manual, the AutoPan DSP module is available for the EPs, but not sure which of its parameters can be assigned to the knobs.


The Knobs have pre-defined parameter sets available... luckily the manual uses the Auto-Pan as the example for DSP, so here's you answer (Page EN-76):

For example, when preset DSP “15. Auto Pan” is selected, DSP Parameter 1 is LFO Waveform, and DSP Parameter 2 is LFO Rate

Jerry

Re: Creating a clean tone vintage Rhodes in Casio PX-S3000 [Re: jerrythek] #2987134
04/27/19 02:16 PM
04/27/19 02:16 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 40
N
Needskeys Offline
Senior Member
Needskeys  Offline
Senior Member
N

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 40
Any chance you might post some audio examples of how the Rhodes and organ sounds after tweaking?

Re: Creating a clean tone vintage Rhodes in Casio PX-S3000 [Re: Needskeys] #2987142
04/27/19 03:47 PM
04/27/19 03:47 PM
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,039
L
LX88 Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
LX88  Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
L

Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,039
It amazes me what these designers do to screw up the sounds on these keyboards.

I have to assume that they are trying to appeal to the average idiot rather than a discerning musician.

I was all set to like the 1000 but it just wasn't it for me. And yes, if you just give me something like a basic Rhodes tone, I can screw it up myself later.

I will also take time here to repeat again that I actually like the Rhodes on the 150 dollar Williams Legato. That's right. If I want to mess with it I run it through a tremolo unit.

I have one. It runs on batteries. I like it better than a lot of Rhodes sounds on much more expensive boards.


Re: Creating a clean tone vintage Rhodes in Casio PX-S3000 [Re: LX88] #2987163
04/27/19 07:40 PM
04/27/19 07:40 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,042
Chicagoland
W
wd8dky Offline
Platinum Member
wd8dky  Offline
Platinum Member
W

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,042
Chicagoland
The discerning musician isn't likely to be buying an $800 board, expecting it to sound like the real deal or a $3000 Kronos. Tempering ones expectations vs. price is usually a good idea.

Re: Creating a clean tone vintage Rhodes in Casio PX-S3000 [Re: wd8dky] #2987170
04/27/19 11:14 PM
04/27/19 11:14 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,451
Jazz+ Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
Jazz+  Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,451
I like the Casio S series piano better than the Kronos piano


Casio PX-S3000 | Mojo 61 | Fender Rhodes | 1966 Mason & Hamlin piano
Re: Creating a clean tone vintage Rhodes in Casio PX-S3000 [Re: Jazz+] #2987191
04/28/19 03:22 AM
04/28/19 03:22 AM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 40
N
Needskeys Offline
Senior Member
Needskeys  Offline
Senior Member
N

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 40
I played a jazz gig tonight with the Casio s1000 & pianoteq Bechstein. A very enjoyable combination.

Re: Creating a clean tone vintage Rhodes in Casio PX-S3000 [Re: Needskeys] #2987226
04/28/19 03:36 PM
04/28/19 03:36 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,451
Jazz+ Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
Jazz+  Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,451
Did you try a tune using the internal piano? How did you amplify it?


Casio PX-S3000 | Mojo 61 | Fender Rhodes | 1966 Mason & Hamlin piano
Re: Creating a clean tone vintage Rhodes in Casio PX-S3000 [Re: LX88] #2987247
04/28/19 07:14 PM
04/28/19 07:14 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,976
Southern California
J
Jazzmammal Offline
Platinum Member
Jazzmammal  Offline
Platinum Member
J

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,976
Southern California
Originally Posted By: LX88
It amazes me what these designers do to screw up the sounds on these keyboards.

I have to assume that they are trying to appeal to the average idiot rather than a discerning musician.


Not "average idiot", it's average consumer. It's not "discerning musician", it's discerning old guy.

Sorry, but us old guys are not driving marketing any more. I'm sure Casio has this board configured to exactly who they want to sell it to. Lets go up to 40 years old. How many 40 year old keys players have any clue about what you're talking about? A few sure, but not enough to matter to Casio and the younger you go the less they know about classic Hammonds.

It's cool Jazz+ took the time to figure these tweaks out.


Hammond SK1, Kurzweil PC3, Korg Pa3x, Roland FA06, Band in a Box, Real Band, Studio One, too much stuff...
Re: Creating a clean tone vintage Rhodes in Casio PX-S3000 [Re: Jazz+] #2987250
04/28/19 07:34 PM
04/28/19 07:34 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 40
N
Needskeys Offline
Senior Member
Needskeys  Offline
Senior Member
N

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 40
Originally Posted By: Jazz+
Did you try a tune using the internal piano? How did you amplify it?


I was using a single K8.2. I had the internal sound on briefly while I was loading up computer stuff. The internal sound is nice but the pianoteq sounded better. Normally I probably would have tried it on a couple of tunes but I was playing with some new people including a vocalist (It Might As Well Be Spring In B?!) so I never got around to it.

Last edited by Needskeys; 04/28/19 08:14 PM.

Moderated by  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1