Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Who here has started a band and/or runs a band?

Over the past six weeks, I've had the opportunity to start a band from scratch. In the process of doing so, I realized it's something I've never done before. I've been asked to join bands when they first started up...but I never came up with a concept, drafted msucians, organized rehearsals, figured out the sound system, booked the first gig, chose the set list, etc etc.

It's a bit more work than I thought...but I'm loving the results. I do admit that it's kind of odd to go from being the guy whose main job has always been to provide the sounds and be a solid core of the arrangements to all of a sudden be the guy who everyone else is looking to for direction, though.

Would love to hear about the experiences of others in similar situations. If nothing else, I have some questions. :idk::D

dB

:snax:

:keys:==> David Bryce Music • Funky Young Monks <==:rawk:

• Replies 49
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

It would be an oversimplification to say I run the two most active bands Im in, but I did start one of them from scratch and retain certain leadership functions, chief among them musical direction (others have long been delegated).

In the other band (which I joined six years ago via audition) Im a director and shareholder (as are all other members) and have responsibility for certain tasks, primarily comms and musical director.

I've been what I call the 'band coordinator' for a couple of bands, including a co-ordination role in current one.

Always happy to answer questions unless they involve how decisions are made because there ain't no answer for that :D