Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Dixie Dregs

Talk about a world of talent and craftsmanship. Not a bad player in the bunch truthfully. Incredible craftsmanship, composition, arrangements and the playing from everyone is stellar. I discovered them with the album below, long after they broke up. I have been musically astounded by those guys ever since.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Back when I was a fledgling guitar student, my teacher gave me a copy of Guitar Player with Frank Zappa on the cover, and a review of "Industry Standard". I went out and bought it on vinyl. While I was nowhere near playing any of it (still not, really), I enjoyed it, and dig it out from time to time. Indeed, superb musicians all around. Steve Morse became and remains one of my favorite guitarists.

While I've never seen the Dregs all together, I have seen Steve Morse live several times, including twice with Kansas; and once where Dregs keyboardist T Lavitz was his opener (yes, they did a few songs together).

Thanks for the reminder of what a great album this is.

"Am I enough of a freak to be worth paying to see?"- Separated Out (Marillion)

NEW band Old band

Well, they're likely going out on tour again this year, Cats & Kitties.

No need to wait for the long-awaited Dregs Of The Dregs Tribute Band.

2 SHORTIES

[video:youtube]

1 LONG

d=halfnote

Elsewhere I mentioned my "introduction" to The Dixie Dregs 40 or so years ago on a local public radio station, and with THIS "title" track....

Their 3rd LP.

Whitefang

I started out with NOTHING...and I still have most of it left!