Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2975543 - 02/13/19 12:35 PM anybody has Roland XV5050 editor software running on mac?
RudyS Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 11/06/02
Posts: 2530
Loc: Groningen, The netherlands
I can pick up a xv5050 quite cheap. Before I buy it, i want to make sure I can run the editor software on my mac. I can't seem to install it, maybe the software is too old?
_________________________
Rudy


Top
KC Island
#2975696 - 02/14/19 07:08 AM Re: anybody has Roland XV5050 editor software running on mac? [Re: RudyS]
RudyS Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 11/06/02
Posts: 2530
Loc: Groningen, The netherlands
No one?

I think I'll pass on it. Without an editor it's no fun I think.
_________________________
Rudy


Top
#2975700 - 02/14/19 07:16 AM Re: anybody has Roland XV5050 editor software running on mac? [Re: RudyS]
EscapeRocks Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 08/12/03
Posts: 5139
Loc: Texas
The Roland editor for the old boards will not work on current Intel Mac's

While you can get the USB driver to work....in most cases... the editor is written for PowerPC.

Apple discontinued Rosetta that let PowerPC Apps work on Intel Mac's.

If you like to mess around with software, you could go the "WineHQ" route. If you go to the Roland Clan forums, search in the Fantom sub forum for Wine, the instructions will be similar. for the XV
Basically Wine is a terminal shell that allows installation and running of old PowerPC apps.
_________________________
David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Komplete Kontrol S61MK2 |Alesis Vortex Wireless 2 | GigPerformer 3|


Top
#2975710 - 02/14/19 07:48 AM Re: anybody has Roland XV5050 editor software running on mac? [Re: RudyS]
Mighty Motif Max Online   happy
Gold Member

Registered: 12/14/16
Posts: 738
Loc: Northeastern MN, U.S.
Pretty sure it'd work on Parallels Desktop running Snow Leopard Server (mail order from Apple), people run other PPC applications on that. Likely VMWare Fusion too.
_________________________
Yamaha: Motif XF8/YS200/CVP-305/CLP-130/YPG-235/PSR-295/PSS-470
Korg: Krome 61
Roland: JV-1000
Casio: CT-370
Kimball Valencia/Broadway/Conn 465 w/144 spkrs/WCOC Reed Organ/Titano Virtuoso Converter

Top
#2975711 - 02/14/19 07:50 AM Re: anybody has Roland XV5050 editor software running on mac? [Re: EscapeRocks]
Reezekeys Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 02/07/11
Posts: 3132
Loc: NYC area
I think Wine lets you run Windows apps, not PowerPC apps. IIRC the older Roland editors were on CDs that had both Windows and (PPC) Mac installers.

This thread details a method that might work for running PPC apps on a newer Mac:

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/5058960

IMO it would be faster to edit from the xv5050's front panel than to deal with either of these "solutions" – but chacun à son goût, as they say...

[edit - MMM beat me to the punch with "solution" #2, as I was composing this!]


Edited by Reezekeys (02/14/19 07:51 AM)

Top
#2975734 - 02/14/19 09:34 AM Re: anybody has Roland XV5050 editor software running on mac? [Re: Reezekeys]
ajstan Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 02/07/18
Posts: 74
Loc: USA
If you can’t get the editor working on your Mac, there is an iPad app called Patch Base that has downloadable editors for a lot of vintage synths (including the XV-5050) from many popular brands.
_________________________
Nord Stage 3 88, Roland Juno-DS61, Radial Key Largo, Westone AM Pro 30, Rolls PM55P, K&M 18880, Bose S1 Pro, JBL 305p MKII, Zoom Q2n-4K

Top
#2975849 - 02/15/19 05:01 AM Re: anybody has Roland XV5050 editor software running on mac? [Re: ajstan]
RudyS Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 11/06/02
Posts: 2530
Loc: Groningen, The netherlands
Thanks everybody. I’m really not into messing with software and don’t want to program it from the front. Will use the money for a good Plugin I think!
_________________________
Rudy


Top
#2976088 - 02/16/19 11:00 AM Re: anybody has Roland XV5050 editor software running on mac? [Re: RudyS]
clpete Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 02/05/09
Posts: 693
Loc: Oregon
After getting a new laptop I have not been able to get the editor/driver to work. I recently finally broke down, read the manual, and did some editing from the front panel. It’s a pain and that was just building performances using presets. The thought of editing or building a sound without the editor gives me a panic attack.
_________________________
We play for free. We get paid to set up and tear down.

Top
#2976118 - 02/16/19 05:14 PM Re: anybody has Roland XV5050 editor software running on mac? [Re: clpete]
Michael W Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 04/03/08
Posts: 655
Loc: Chicago, IL
I had an XV-5050 about ten years ago and I couldn't get the software to run on my Mac. Ever. Programmed from the front panel until I sold it. So annoying...
_________________________
Michael
Montage 8, Integra 7, Digital Performer, Diva, Omnisphere 2, etc.
http://www.youtube.com/keybdwizrd

Top
#2976608 - 02/19/19 07:54 PM Re: anybody has Roland XV5050 editor software running on mac? [Re: Michael W]
harmonizer Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 08/11/06
Posts: 863
Loc: NJ, USA
I have done a lot of programming of custom patches from the front panel of my XV-5050. It's an acquired taste, but it becomes less tedious if you can use the XV-Librarian to copy some very bland custom patch that you already have (one having minimal effects) into the user patch slot where you want to build your new custom patch. Most of the "preset" custom patches in the user bank have really weird effects built-in, so if you don't "sandblast" them by copying a bland patch over them, you need to spend a lot of time finding those weird effects and nullifying them.

But if you can't get the driver working on your OS, than you can't use the XV-Librarian.

I have sort of "moved on", having recently bought an FA-07, and the XV-5050 has became a backup device.

Top
#2976659 - 02/20/19 07:50 AM Re: anybody has Roland XV5050 editor software running on mac? [Re: harmonizer]
Reezekeys Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 02/07/11
Posts: 3132
Loc: NYC area
I went looking for my old JV1010 editor software that came with my 1010. It's on the net, but I guess I forgot it's for OS9! For grins I got it running in Sheepshaver – but there's no way to get midi communication happening.

If you think editing an XV-5050 patch from the front panel is difficult, try the JV1010!

Top
#2976668 - 02/20/19 08:22 AM Re: anybody has Roland XV5050 editor software running on mac? [Re: Reezekeys]
RudyS Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 11/06/02
Posts: 2530
Loc: Groningen, The netherlands
Is that even possible? It only has a three digit display, doesn’t it?
_________________________
Rudy


Top
#2976673 - 02/20/19 08:41 AM Re: anybody has Roland XV5050 editor software running on mac? [Re: RudyS]
Reezekeys Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 02/07/11
Posts: 3132
Loc: NYC area
Originally Posted By: RudyS
Is that even possible? It only has a three digit display, doesn’t it?

Yea, so what? My Ensoniq Mirage had a 2-digit hex display! smile You kids have it easy with your giant XV5050 displays!

Actually you can't edit patches in the JV1010, but you can do quite a few things from its front panel: program which patch goes into which of the 16 performance "slots", then set their levels, panning, tuning, voice reserve, output assign, and efx send levels.

Top
#2976675 - 02/20/19 09:20 AM Re: anybody has Roland XV5050 editor software running on mac? [Re: Reezekeys]
RudyS Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 11/06/02
Posts: 2530
Loc: Groningen, The netherlands
Haha, “Get of my lawn”!

My Korg Poly 61 also had a 2 digit display, but a few more buttons than a jv1010.
_________________________
Rudy


Top


Moderator:  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner