Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2975476 - 02/13/19 07:22 AM Songwriting
marczellm Offline
Gold Member

Loc: Budapest, Hungary
Originally Posted By: Bucktunes in the David Foster thread
I studied his arrangements quite a bit for a while when I was learning to write and arrange pop ballads.

How do you even start to learn songwriting? I'd really like to, but to me it seems a sufficiently handwavy art that one either "has it" or doesn't. It it easy to say "look at Stevie Wonder" but if do, I might feel "yeah, this is great" and nothing more; or I might feel "okay but that only tells me how to write a Stevie Wonder copycat song, certainly no one is interested in that?"

It would be awesome if this thread could go deep like the Reharm Room and people actually brought examples such as "I got this idea from this song and used it like this in another song."
Gear: NS2 + JUNO-G

KC Island
#2975479 - 02/13/19 07:38 AM Re: Songwriting [Re: marczellm]
d / halfnote Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: no longer lexington, Kenfunky,...
There are various ways to get "trained" to do any task but the most creative things come from just starting to do something.
Think of Lennon-McCartney.
Those cats were total autodidacts.
In fact everything in human history
(unless one assigns such things to space alien intervention rolleyes )
began as someone just starting to do it & evolved.

I'm sure there will be more suggestions & I'll be back w/ more myself but I think it's important to remember that the best basis of any art is a combination of what's worked in the past X something new & diff.

#2975481 - 02/13/19 07:45 AM Re: Songwriting [Re: marczellm]
GregC Online   content
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Discovery Bay, California
Originally Posted By: marczellm
Originally Posted By: Bucktunes in the David Foster thread