Music Player Network

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 29 of 31 1 2 27 28 29 30 31
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 and S3000 [Re: Joe Muscara] #2991218 05/25/19 03:02 PM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,315
El Lobo Offline
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,315
Originally Posted By: Joe Muscara
For the record, I would like to be able to mute the internal speakers via a menu option myself.
Eggzackly. There is a menu function to mute or unmute the internal speakers when using headphones. There is no menu function to mute or unmute the internal speakers when connecting to external speakers. This missing menu function is your "different design philosophy" and my "design flaw."

Edit: it means I always have to have a dummy mini-plug in order to gig my 3000. Not a terrible burden, but an annoyance.

Last edited by El Lobo; 05/25/19 03:06 PM.
KC Island
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 and S3000 [Re: El Lobo] #2991220 05/25/19 03:34 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,922
AnotherScott Offline
10k Club
Offline
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,922
Why do you want to mute the internal speakers when connecting external ones? On these designs, I like the physical vibrations from the speakers to the keys, it helps make it feel more real.


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 and S3000 [Re: AnotherScott] #2991222 05/25/19 03:51 PM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,315
El Lobo Offline
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,315
Originally Posted By: AnotherScott
Why do you want to mute the internal speakers when connecting external ones?
See previous post. I want to control volume of external speakers without changing volume of internal ones. For instance, if I push the volume pedal to the metal to get a very loud organ sound for a brief moment, I don't want the internal speakers to also go to the max. I'd like to have the menu option of turning off the internal speakers when I'm going out to my K8's.

Not a deal-breaker. Just seems like an obvious menu option to have because there's a menu option to turn off internal speakers when using headphones.

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 and S3000 [Re: El Lobo] #2991238 05/25/19 07:01 PM
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 348
A
agitato Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
A
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 348
For those that own/use the s1000 and s3000: How sturdy is the right angle power supply unit, when plugged into the piano, is it connected securely?

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 and S3000 [Re: agitato] #2991502 05/27/19 09:16 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 71
P
pianomike Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
P
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 71
Well Jazz , I took your advice using the normal button on the first jazz rhthym and it is a lot easier to stay in time like that , not perfect but I do not think its bad and I have been practicing with a metronome but not on this song , Have You Met Miss Jones .

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 and S3000 [Re: agitato] #2991509 05/27/19 11:28 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 747
E
ewall08530 Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
E
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 747
Originally Posted By: agitato
For those that own/use the s1000 and s3000: How sturdy is the right angle power supply unit, when plugged into the piano, is it connected securely?


Its exactly like the one on the PX5S I've gigged with for 6 years and never had a problem.
To be assured of no problems, the cord from the wall wart is long enough to be wrapped around a leg on your keyboard stand and then plugged in, securing it.

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 and S3000 [Re: ewall08530] #2991561 05/28/19 11:19 AM
Joined: Mar 2019
Posts: 67
K
Keepitsimple Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
K
Joined: Mar 2019
Posts: 67
I finally played the S-1000 today. I have to say i was very impressed with the action. What i liked most about it is the dynamics, the keys "melt" further down when hitting those ff notes, it almost felt like it has escapement.

I have some reservations about the texture of the keys though, i found it a little extreme but i think it's something i get used to. I also wish the "Stage piano" preset was included in the S-1000 as i heard great things about that preset. Either way, if i buy it, it will end up controlling my sample libraries anyway (Keyscape, Ravenscroft etc...).

So far, my favorite actions after a week of testing digital pianos are: S-1000, Dexibell S9 and FP-90.

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 and S3000 [Re: Keepitsimple] #2992836 06/06/19 05:19 AM
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 196
Dockeys Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 196
My S3000 arrived yesterday. No time to seriously dig into into yet but I plan on posting a review of it in the coming week. I plan on using it as a controller in the studio as well as in live scenarios for rehearsals but also looking at using it as a controller for my iPad Pro running various synth apps.

Just plugged the S3000 into Pianoteq and the action is great. Plenty of firmness but not tiring. I had a PX5s and enjoyed the action on that but the keyed has a tendency to move from side to side a little, not so the S3000. Anyway action is lovely, and the very brief exploration of the piano and some other sounds are very good.

I'll post a proper review once I get some extended time with the board. Or if anyone has any specific query feel free to ask or pm me.

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 and S3000 [Re: Dockeys] #2992853 06/06/19 09:07 AM
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,360
Al Quinn Offline
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,360
Ive had the PX-S3000 for a few weeks now. Its working great as a midi controller. My needs are not demanding. So far Ive been just mapping AP, EP, and B3. The two knobs are very useful. Knob 1 is mapped for patch volume and Knob 2 maps to whatever I decide is most important for each patch (e.g., low mid EQ gain for AP). Patch buttons are mapped to whichever software instruments I want. Sustain and expression pedals map easily. So far, its all working great and is a blast to play.

The manual is kind of cryptic, but so far Ive been able to find everything I need.

I wish there was a way to silence the internal speakers other than plugging in headphones. Seems like a miss to me in an otherwise well thought out keyboard.

Im finding a signal connected to the Audio In sounds good through the PX-S3000 internal speakers but not so good from the PX-S3000 1/4 outputs. Has anyone else noticed this? I use the Audio In on the CP4 to connect a second keyboard or laptop without the need for a mixer. Unfortunately, I dont think Ill be able to do the same with the PX-S3000.

Id like to also use the PX-S3000 as a vacation/car travel keyboard. This would be a nice step up from the Yamaha NP-11 I currently use. The PX-S3000 fits across the floor in front of the backseat of my car with very little room to spare. Im hoping that it will also fit when in its case (which I dont have yet). B&H shows the case width to be 52.7 which would just fit. Can someone with a carry case verify that this dimension is correct?

As a quiet practice DP the PX-S3000 is excellent. Its fun to play through the internal speakers, battery operation is useful at times, and the keys make very little noise when played.

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 and S3000 [Re: Al Quinn] #2992859 06/06/19 10:21 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 71
P
pianomike Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
P
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 71
Al , you can turn the speakers off from inside the computer , can't remember where , might be the keyboard section or effects section , it somewhere around there , I have a little trouble finding things but I managed to find out how to turn up the on board drum machine which helps me here it better when playing .

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 and S3000 [Re: Al Quinn] #2992902 06/06/19 02:45 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,475
Jazz+ Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,475
Originally Posted By: Al Quinn
Knob 2 ..(e.g., low mid EQ gain for AP). .


I couldn't find a low mid EQ for Knob 2; Which Knob setting did you select to get that? Is it in conjunction with a specific DSP?

I am using:
Brilliance/Reverb for AP
Chorus/Reverb for Rhodes
Filter/Res for Organ

Speaking of Organ, what other knob settings would be appropriate? I think a combination of filter and rotary control would be good, but I dont think that combination is available, is Rotary even controllable from a knob setting?


Casio PX-S3000 | Mojo 61 | Fender Rhodes | 1966 Mason & Hamlin piano
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 and S3000 [Re: Jazz+] #2992946 06/06/19 06:00 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,186
Mike Martin Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,186
Originally Posted By: Jazz+
Originally Posted By: Al Quinn
Knob 2 ..(e.g., low mid EQ gain for AP). .
Speaking of Organ, what other knob settings would be appropriate? I think a combination of filter and rotary control would be good, but I dont think that combination is available, is Rotary even controllable from a knob setting?


Yes - if knobs are set to FX control they default to speed control when a Rotary effect is used.

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 and S3000 [Re: Mike Martin] #2992953 06/06/19 06:46 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,475
Jazz+ Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,475
There's control Knob combination settings from 1-14. I'm using DSP 054 Drive/Rotary/EQ which sound great, I like the Rotary setting on this DSP.

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 and S3000 [Re: Jazz+] #2992954 06/06/19 06:56 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,475
Jazz+ Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,475
I see it now, it's Knob setting 14 :DSP Parameters

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 and S3000 [Re: Jazz+] #2992999 06/06/19 10:20 PM
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,360
Al Quinn Offline
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,360
Originally Posted By: Jazz+
Originally Posted By: Al Quinn
Knob 2 ..(e.g., low mid EQ gain for AP). .

I couldn't find a low mid EQ for Knob 2; Which Knob setting did you select to get that? Is it in conjunction with a specific DSP?

I was speaking about using the PX-S3000 as a midi controller. I mapped Knob 2 to the gain on the Low Mid frequency using an EQ provided in Gig Performer to control the Low Mid's on Keyscape's C7 AP and the Scarbee Rhodes. I haven't tried to do this using the PX-3000 DSP for the internal sounds.

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($900) and S3000 ($1200) [Re: Jazz+] #2993007 06/06/19 11:05 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,697
1
16251 Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
1
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,697
I sold my Yamaha FP4 and Space Station to purchase the PXS3000. Today I picked it up, unfortunately the case and 3x Pedal were not in yet. I think the sound is summed up nicely listening to the internal demos. It's great to hear a different company's samples. ****(Question for Mike Martin. Why isn't the electric piano used on demo 3 the first preset for the electric piano sounds? I need to recreate that sound!)**** Glad I sold FP4, this piano is great. I owned a Privia PX320 10 years ago but sold months later (didn't like action, thought sounds were OK.) This S3000 shows great progress. The action IMO is great. I don't see any issues with the pivot point. Wasn't sure how I'd like the ebony/ivory feel of keyboard but it's a real improvement. I need to get the half damper pedal to determine if the sustain can be messed with. All this for such short money is a monumental accomplishment for Casio. This piano goes with my original calculator watch I still wear occasionally.

This keyboard came out just as I decided to get a keyboard with build-in speakers and was light. At 62, I'm done with schlepping. I actually did a nation-wide search for a FP4. (I sold it cause I wanted a DP with better Rhodes sound. I did like pre-SN acoustic pianos Roland had.) I liked the Space Station but decided it wasn't that great for acoustic piano and usually need more low end. Buying a sub-woofer would of defeated the stereo in one amp premise. I use the GK keyboard amps from 30+ years ago. I like 12" speakers for piano, plus they're build like tanks.

Last edited by 16251; 06/06/19 11:07 PM.

AG N2 | PX S3000 | REFACE CP | GK MK & MP amps
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($900) and S3000 ($1200) [Re: 16251] #2993142 06/07/19 03:45 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,475
Jazz+ Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,475
16251,

The best clean tone Rhodes is EP1 but only AFTER you turn OFF its Phaser/Tremolo DSP and save it to a user Registration.

My favorite amp sim is the DSP 027 Re-Amp 1.
I like the Fender Twin Reverb 3 amp, listed as FD-TWRV3. It brings out the single note clack sound a clean tone Herbie Rhodes can get. It also does some compression and has EQ. Its my go to Rhodes now. I turn the DSP on when I want some kick and OFF when I want it to be mellow.

I assign Chorus and Reverb to the Knobs. I dig Room 2 Reverb. Hall 1 is too much for me on both Rhodes and Piano.



Casio PX-S3000 | Mojo 61 | Fender Rhodes | 1966 Mason & Hamlin piano
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($900) and S3000 ($1200) [Re: Jazz+] #2993169 06/07/19 06:08 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,186
Mike Martin Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,186
Some new Rhodes and Clavinet tones (saved as registrations) over on CasioMusicForums to download.
https://www.casiomusicforums.com/index.php?/files/category/61-px-s3000/

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($900) and S3000 ($1200) [Re: Mike Martin] #2993215 06/07/19 10:10 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,475
Jazz+ Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,475
I've uploaded my edited Clean Tone Rhodes and two Jazz Organs to the Casio Users Forum:

About This PX-S3000 Registration File:
1. Clean Tone Rhodes in Twin Reverb Amp (Knobs control Chorus/Reverb levels)
2. Clean Tone Rhodes Direct (Knobs control Chorus/Reverb levels)
3. Slow Rotary Jazz Organ (Knobs control Filter/Res levels) SPLIT with Organ Bass
4. No Rotary Jazz Organ (Knobs control Filter/Res levels) SPLIT with Organ Bass

Note: Knobs that control the Filter/Res levels act as pseudo organ drawbars.

Clean Rhodes + Jazz Organs for PX-S3000 by Jazz+


Casio PX-S3000 | Mojo 61 | Fender Rhodes | 1966 Mason & Hamlin piano
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($900) and S3000 ($1200) [Re: Mike Martin] #2993274 06/08/19 10:46 AM
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,360
Al Quinn Offline
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,360
Mike and Jazz+, thanks for the improved Rhodes

Now how do I get this puppy to bark?

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($900) and S3000 ($1200) [Re: Al Quinn] #2993304 06/08/19 12:19 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,475
Jazz+ Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,475
Maybe you could try increasing the Drive (Gain) or try increasing the Touch sensitivity to Light. I personally am not after outright bark. My idea of a clean Herbie Rhodes on the CTI label is not bark, but a little bit of "clack" and overdrive when I dig in. The Fender Twin Reverb Amp sim I selected adds some of that.

Clean Rhodes + Jazz Organs for PX-S3000 by Jazz+


Casio PX-S3000 | Mojo 61 | Fender Rhodes | 1966 Mason & Hamlin piano
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($900) and S3000 ($1200) [Re: Jazz+] #2993371 06/08/19 04:57 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,475
Jazz+ Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,475
.

This Fantasy Records live recording captures the classic Rhodes sound at 2:40. Notice it clacks and overdrives slightly on strong accents but never really barks. The notes are full bodied sounding which is really great for soloing.



Casio PX-S3000 | Mojo 61 | Fender Rhodes | 1966 Mason & Hamlin piano
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($900) and S3000 ($1200) [Re: Jazz+] #2993519 06/09/19 02:31 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,229
Theo Verelst Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,229
The "New Rhodes:" demo on soundcloud could be listened to (demo) without having to get a login on the Casio site, and ok, that sounds alright, probably the keyboard plays ok and the sound is doable. I;m sure in the longer run the lack of complexity might get boring, but them kids with this keyboard at leas should be able to play a song or two!

T

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($900) and S3000 ($1200) [Re: Theo Verelst] #2993522 06/09/19 02:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 435
D
dongna Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
D
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 435
I'm very interested in these boards, but just became aware neither have 5-pin MIDI jacks. Is this correct? I've never owned a keyboard without'em... am I being too old-school thinking this is a serious omission for anything other than home use?

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($900) and S3000 ($1200) [Re: dongna] #2993525 06/09/19 02:49 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,922
AnotherScott Offline
10k Club
Offline
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,922
Originally Posted By: dongna
I'm very interested in these boards, but just became aware neither have 5-pin MIDI jacks. Is this correct? I've never owned a keyboard without'em... am I being too old-school thinking this is a serious omission for anything other than home use?

I tend to agree... but a lot of people gig with just a single board and/or never connect to any other MIDI device when gigging anyway, so it could work for them. But yeah, I'd find it to be a significant limitation.


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($900) and S3000 ($1200) [Re: AnotherScott] #2993533 06/09/19 03:36 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,475
Jazz+ Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,475
I never connect to a MIDI device these days. I did that in the 80's and 90's and felt it was a hassle. The internal sounds are good quite enough for me now days.

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($900) and S3000 ($1200) [Re: Jazz+] #2993544 06/09/19 06:10 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 40
N
Needskeys Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
N
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 40
I think more and more people are connecting to computers rather than midi. I use this board mostly to control vsts but I did use the internal piano sound on a gig the other night...and it sounded quite good.

I do have to adjust to the action a bit but its only on the occasional chord. If you get too far into the keybed it just doesnt feel quite right. The solution seems to be to move your hand closer to the front of the keys on these chords. Its pretty minor for me but it might be a bigger issue for some.

Last edited by Needskeys; 06/09/19 06:12 PM.
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($900) and S3000 ($1200) [Re: Al Quinn] #2993598 06/10/19 12:38 AM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 710
J
Jazzooo Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
J
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 710
Im in the states and had the opportunity to play and S1000 at guitar center today. And I really really enjoyed myself. I wasnt able to access any sound other than the grand piano and the Rhodes, but Im sure a moment with the manual would have helped me :-) the speakers sounded fabulous, and I think they would be loud enough for my rehearsals with my Latin jazz band. If its borderline, I would just ask everyone to play a little softer.

Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($900) and S3000 ($1200) [Re: Jazzooo] #2993599 06/10/19 12:56 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,475
Jazz+ Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 6,475
Its not loud enough for a band. You will need some sort of amp, a small crummy one on the floor is enough to reinforce the internal speakers and provide some low end. I use a 17 lb 10 Fender bass amp and it sounds superb.


Casio PX-S3000 | Mojo 61 | Fender Rhodes | 1966 Mason & Hamlin piano
Re: Casio Privia PX-S1000 ($900) and S3000 ($1200) [Re: Jazz+] #2993600 06/10/19 01:30 AM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,315
El Lobo Offline
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,315
Originally Posted By: Jazz+
Its not loud enough for a band. You will need some sort of amp, a small crummy one on the floor is enough to reinforce the internal speakers and provide some low end. I use a 17 lb 10 Fender bass amp and it sounds superb.
I'm hoping the speakers on my 3000 will be loud enough for rehearsal with a blues/rock band and a country rock band. Neither band is very loud at rehearsal, but if I have to also lug along 1 of my K8's, it kinda defeats one of the reasons I got the board in the first place.

Page 29 of 31 1 2 27 28 29 30 31

Moderated by  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3