Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 13 of 13 < 1 2 ... 11 12 13
Topic Options
#2989409 - 05/13/19 10:46 AM Re: Yamaha CP88 and 73 - Deserve their own thread [Re: ElmerJFudd]
pauleway Offline
Member

Registered: 02/08/19
Posts: 4
When using Organ mode, is there a way to use a footswitch to control the Rotary speed of the leslie instead of using the Modular toggle?

Top
KC Island
#2989415 - 05/13/19 11:14 AM Re: Yamaha CP88 and 73 - Deserve their own thread [Re: Pa Gherkin]
Mighty Motif Max Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 12/14/16
Posts: 762
Loc: Northeastern MN, U.S.
Originally Posted By: Pa Gherkin
Has anyone heard how it sounds in mono? Being a proponent of playing in mono live this is important to me. I'm leery because I had a Yamaha dp that was quite nice in stereo but truly awful in mono. I tried every possible mono configuration and it still stunk. However,I've got high hopes for the CP73.


Yes, my review in this thread was based on hearing it through a small Roland Cube amp in mono. You can read what I wrote to get an idea. I thought it was just fine in mono, better than my Motif XF for sure in that regard. smile
_________________________
Yamaha: Motif XF8/YS200/CVP-305/CLP-130/YPG-235/PSR-295/PSS-470
Korg: Krome 61
Roland: JV-1000
Casio: CT-370
Kimball Valencia/Broadway/Conn 465 w/144 spkrs/WCOC Reed Organ/Titano Virtuoso Converter

Top
#2989513 - 05/14/19 01:13 AM Re: Yamaha CP88 and 73 - Deserve their own thread [Re: Mighty Motif Max]
Pa Gherkin Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 03/27/11
Posts: 641
Thank you Max. That's great to hear.

Top
#2989514 - 05/14/19 01:40 AM Re: Yamaha CP88 and 73 - Deserve their own thread [Re: pauleway]
RudyS Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 11/06/02
Posts: 2550
Loc: Groningen, The netherlands
Originally Posted By: pauleway
When using Organ mode, is there a way to use a footswitch to control the Rotary speed of the leslie instead of using the Modular toggle?


I don't know, but I really hope so. it's 2019, can't imagine this isn't possible...
_________________________
Rudy


Top
#2989560 - 05/14/19 10:20 AM Re: Yamaha CP88 and 73 - Deserve their own thread [Re: RudyS]
pauleway Offline
Member

Registered: 02/08/19
Posts: 4
I own the Korg GrandStage-73, and there is no option to use a footswitch for the Rotary speed on the Korg GS, that is why I asked this question for the Yamaha CP. You think it would be a no brainer, but it is not!!

Top
#2989563 - 05/14/19 10:29 AM Re: Yamaha CP88 and 73 - Deserve their own thread [Re: pauleway]
Adan Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 01/14/10
Posts: 2801
Loc: San Francisco
Originally Posted By: pauleway
When using Organ mode, is there a way to use a footswitch to control the Rotary speed of the leslie instead of using the Modular toggle?


You can assign any midi # to any controller, so probably? I feel no motivation at all to find out because the "leslie sim" on the CP is so bad. Like, inexplicably bad. There's much cheaper keyboards with a better leslie effect.

If I was going to use the CP as my only keyboard on a gig and needed organ, I'd use either the Korg Module or the Pocket B3 apps, both are far better than what's onboard the CP.
_________________________
Crumar Seven, Crumar Mojo 61, Korg Vox Continental, Yamaha CP73.

roccoromanucci.com

Top
#2989565 - 05/14/19 10:30 AM Re: Yamaha CP88 and 73 - Deserve their own thread [Re: pauleway]
Adan Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 01/14/10
Posts: 2801
Loc: San Francisco
Originally Posted By: pauleway
I own the Korg GrandStage-73, and there is no option to use a footswitch for the Rotary speed on the Korg GS, that is why I asked this question for the Yamaha CP. You think it would be a no brainer, but it is not!!


The leslie sim on the Grandstage is useable, the one on the CP is not, in my opinion.
_________________________
Crumar Seven, Crumar Mojo 61, Korg Vox Continental, Yamaha CP73.

roccoromanucci.com

Top
#2989573 - 05/14/19 11:19 AM Re: Yamaha CP88 and 73 - Deserve their own thread [Re: Adan]
pauleway Offline
Member

Registered: 02/08/19
Posts: 4
The Leslie sim on the Grandstage or the Yam-CP are both NOT GOOD. I only use the Korg at home for practice and was curious if the CP had this option.(Always used a footswitch for my Rotary speed).
If you're looking for a good leslie sound, the Grandstage or the Yam.CP's are not the keyboards you want to use, and are not meant to be!


Edited by pauleway (05/14/19 11:20 AM)

Top
#2989588 - 05/14/19 02:52 PM Re: Yamaha CP88 and 73 - Deserve their own thread [Re: pauleway]
Coker Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 02/13/16
Posts: 194
Loc: Connecticut
I am now using Galileo Organ 2 with my CP4 for organ patches. It works surprisingly well for organ layers and occasional B3 solos. I had to invest in the wireless MIDI adapter from Yamaha, though, because of ground loop problems with the iPad to CP4 connections. I assume the same fix would work with the CP88.


Edited by Coker (05/14/19 03:03 PM)
_________________________
CP4, ZXA1, CA93, SP-6

Top
#2989594 - 05/14/19 04:11 PM Re: Yamaha CP88 and 73 - Deserve their own thread [Re: Coker]
AnotherScott Offline
10k Club

Registered: 10/19/09
Posts: 13611
Originally Posted By: Coker
ground loop problems with the iPad to CP4 connections

I'm assuming this was with a USB connection (rather than 5-pin MIDI out of the MODX), and with the iPad simultaneously plugged into AC For staying charged?
_________________________
Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!

Top
#2989599 - 05/14/19 05:31 PM Re: Yamaha CP88 and 73 - Deserve their own thread [Re: AnotherScott]
Coker Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 02/13/16
Posts: 194
Loc: Connecticut
Nope. iPad to CP4 with usb / camera adapter and then output from iPad earphone to CP4 aux input. Several people on internet have similar noise issues that they attribute to a ground loop. Using wireless MIDI eliminated the noise.
_________________________
CP4, ZXA1, CA93, SP-6

Top
#2989600 - 05/14/19 05:50 PM Re: Yamaha CP88 and 73 - Deserve their own thread [Re: Coker]
AnotherScott Offline
10k Club

Registered: 10/19/09
Posts: 13611
I'm surprised it would be a ground loop if the iPad wasn't plugged into AC.

I wonder if it would be different if you'd used a DIN MIDI connection out of the CP4 instead of the USB.
_________________________
Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!

Top
#2989609 - 05/14/19 06:45 PM Re: Yamaha CP88 and 73 - Deserve their own thread [Re: AnotherScott]
Coker Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 02/13/16
Posts: 194
Loc: Connecticut
Hope we are not hijacking this thread, but according to other blogs, using the standard MIdI connector does not introduce the noise like the USB connector does. Noise was evident only when both USB and aux are connected to one device. This was not unique to Yamaha from what I could find.
_________________________
CP4, ZXA1, CA93, SP-6

Top
#2989666 - 05/15/19 06:47 AM Re: Yamaha CP88 and 73 - Deserve their own thread [Re: AnotherScott]
JimboKeys Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/25/11
Posts: 125
Loc: Raleigh NC
Originally Posted By: AnotherScott
I'm surprised it would be a ground loop if the iPad wasn't plugged into AC.

CP4 (audio) --> iPad --> CP4 (USB) = loop. Not 60Hz AC but 1kHz (to my ears) USB burst rate.

- Jimbo
_________________________
"It’s called an expression pedal for a reason: It’s not a volume pedal." -- Dr. Lonnie Smith

Top
#2989671 - 05/15/19 07:11 AM Re: Yamaha CP88 and 73 - Deserve their own thread [Re: Coker]
drawback Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/11/04
Posts: 3890
Originally Posted By: Coker
Nope. iPad to CP4 with usb / camera adapter and then output from iPad earphone to CP4 aux input. Several people on internet have similar noise issues that they attribute to a ground loop. Using wireless MIDI eliminated the noise.


Would MIDI cable to PlugKey also have solved this?
_________________________
1977 Kawai KG-2C | SL88 Studio | Mojo61 A/B | iOS ~ AUM | MacOS ~ MainStage | iConnectAudio4+ | Korg PlugKey |
[ Ravenscroft / Canterbury / Neo-Soul / iFretless / Ivory / Scarbee ]

Top
#2989688 - 05/15/19 08:57 AM Re: Yamaha CP88 and 73 - Deserve their own thread [Re: drawback]
U.Honey Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/13/05
Posts: 241
Loc: San Diego, CA, USA
Originally Posted By: drawback


Would MIDI cable to PlugKey also have solved this?


Yes. The 5-pin ‘old school’ Midi has optical isolation so no ground loops.
_________________________
YachtRock! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zpU5UAmXNtA

Top
Page 13 of 13 < 1 2 ... 11 12 13


Moderator:  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner